Wait 4 seconds

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Dekuhhh, Oct 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Dekuhhh

Code:
        public boolean onCommand(CommandSender s, Command cmd, String commandLabel, String[] args) {

Player p = (Player) s;
                if (cmd.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("texture")) {
                    if (!Texture.isEmpty()) {
                        p.sendMessage("§d(!) Wait 5 seconds");
                          // wait 5 seconds and send
                        p.setResourcePack(Texture);
                        p.sendMessage("a");
                } else {
                    p.sendMessage("Al momeno no");
                }
            }
            return false;
        }

I would like to insert a delay of 5 seconds in the indicated point

2. Offline

Strahan

Use a runnable. Whatever you do, do NOT sleep the thread.

3. Offline

Dekuhhh

How do I use it? I'm new to java. could you give me an example?

4. Offline

KarimAKL

There's examples on the page he linked.

5. Offline

Strahan

I have a few mins to kill before a meeting, heh, so I'll show you an example. This is what I'd do:
    Code:
    @Override
    public boolean onCommand(CommandSender sender, Command cmd, String label, String[] args) {
      if (!cmd.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("texture")) return true;
      if (!(sender instanceof Player)) {
        sender.sendMessage("Players only!");
        return true;
      }
      if (Texture.isEmpty()) {
        sender.sendMessage("Al momeno no");
        return true;
      }

Player p = (Player)sender;
      p.sendMessage(ChatColor.LIGHT_PURPLE + "(!) Wait 5 seconds");

new BukkitRunnable() {
        @Override
        public void run() {
          p.sendMessage("a");
        }
      }.runTaskLater(this, 100);

return true;
    }
    Now spoonfeeding doesn't help anyone, so I'll explain everything I did:
    Code:
      if (!cmd.getName().equalsIgnoreCase("texture")) return true;