Tutorial for Permissions Beginners

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by ThePoopfish, Jun 18, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    nope but recently i am getting this error
    Code:
    17:31:41 [SEVERE] java.lang.NullPointerException
    17:31:41 [SEVERE]    at com.gmail.nossr50.Metrics.postPlugin(Metrics.java:272)
    17:31:41 [SEVERE]    at com.gmail.nossr50.Metrics.access$100(Metrics.java:27)
    17:31:41 [SEVERE]    at com.gmail.nossr50.Metrics$1.run(Metrics.java:163)
    17:31:41 [SEVERE]    at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.scheduler.CraftWorker.run(CraftWorker.java:34)
    17:31:41 [SEVERE]    at java.lang.Thread.run(Thread.java:680)
    
     
  2. Offline

    ThePoopfish

    Then you probably have the PEX chatmanager enabled, you need to disable that so it won't interfere with herochat?
     
  3. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    How do i do that?

    Also is it better to have a hamachi or to port forward? i like hamachi better because its easier but is there a way so that my friends dont have to all download hamachi? thnx

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2016
  4. Offline

    Omnitv

    I use Hamachi whenever i need to experiment/Test on plugins on my server, and it really isn't that good up to 5 players.
    I use my router ip/portfrofward on my main server a lot better, and i mean better.

    Hamachi tutorial link (Video) LINK
     
  5. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    Yea I used hamachi and I got to the 5 limit so I went to port forwarding and I got it up and running. It just doesn't let my friends join for some reason?

    Do u have a clue to why my friends can't join?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 16, 2016
  6. Offline

    ThePoopfish

    what is the message they get when they are unable to connect. It could be a port forwarding issue.
     
  7. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    The server works... I can go on it, just for my friends it just the server doesn't show that it's online?
     
  8. Offline

    ThePoopfish

    are you connecting through localhost? or your ip?
     
  9. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    My computers ip
     
  10. Offline

    Omnitv

    ipv-4? through hamachi? or your computers True ip. some people get confused by that
     
  11. Offline

    ThePoopfish

    :/

    that ^

    are you using private ip, public ip, or using the "localhost" address?
     
  12. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    im using my computers true ip im pretty sure... how i check?

    and poopfish..... how do i know?
     
  13. Offline

    Omnitv

    Go to your command prompt type > ipconfig <
    you will see this.
    THIS IS ALL 2 years old.. just to say and it was heavily edited

    Capturevv.PNG
     
  14. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    i have a mac... and i knowo u do ifconfig
     
  15. Offline

    Omnitv

    Could have used this info earlier...coz then i have no clue.
     
  16. Offline

    ThePoopfish

    http://www.whatismyip.com/ <public ip, this is what people need to join your server
    your private Ip, is an internal IP address if you use that, no one will be able to join
     
  17. Offline

    ZedMalmoux

    Omnitv it doesnt make much a difference... and ThePoopFish thanx a lot :D ill see if they can jion :D
     
  18. Offline

    ThePoopfish

  19. Offline

    Omnitv

  20. Offline

    Blackout8099

    You can have more than 5 people through hamachi i have done it if you want to know how inbox me :)
     
  21. Offline

    Omnitv

    Not to be rude or anything but, have you checked the time stamp?
     
  22. Offline

    Kamikazesk0

    Hope I get replied, but I'v recentrly started using PEX to set up a simple 4-world server for me and my friends.
    Everything was fine until i ran into some weird messages on the commandline, but weirdly, and after i used Yaml Parser, i found that using a ' instead of a " on my Moderator groups prefix was making it all go wild.

    After that, everything seemed fine, until I kept getting the The server can't keep up! Did the time change and whatnot message. I parsed it again and it says everything is fine. There are some more plugins i wish to use, but I'm mainly trying to use permissions with them, one at a time, test, and move on to the next one.

    I can't figure out why the message keeps popping up, and it's laggin my server quite a bit, so anyone knows why?
    Here's the code:

    And many thank you's from me to you! :D
    Code:
    groups:
      default:
        prefix: '&7(&dNABO&7)&c'
        default: true
        options:
          rank: '1000'
        permissions:
        - modifyworld.chat
        - -simplewarps.usesign
        - -simplewarps.list
        - -simplewarps.warpothers
        - -simplewarps.changeuseop
        - -simplewarps.reload
        - -simplewarps.addwarp
      Member:
        prefix: '&7(&1Membro&7)&f '
        permissions:
        - modifyworld.*
        - simplewarps.usesign
        inheritance:
        - default
        options:
          rank: '900
      Moderator:
        prefix: "&7(&2Moderador&7)&2 '
        permissions:
        - simplewarps.list
        - simplewarps.warpothers
        options:
          rank: '100'
        inheritance:
        - Member
      Admins:
        prefix: '&7(&4BIG_BOSS&7)&6 '
        permissions:
        - modifyworld.*
        - permissions.*
        - simplewarps.list
        - simplewarps.warpothers
        - simplewarps.changeuseop
        - simplewarps.reload
        - simplewarps.addwarp
        - simplewarps.setsign
        - simplewarps.usesign
        - simplewarps.warps.*
        options:
          rank: '1'
    users:
      tester:
        group:
        - Member
      Kamikazesk0:
        group:
        - Admins
     
  23. Kamikazesk0 I am new myself and would like to know how you set up the extra worlds. I just cant seem to get my thoughts around it. And as for Zed, I do not know if you got it fixed but I had the same problem with the prefix's with PEX I found it by chance and end of adding them in game with the /pex command, they worked after that.
     
  24. Offline

    Omnitv

    Code:
    groups:
      default:
        prefix: '&7(&dNABO&7)&c'
        default: true
        options:
          rank: '1000'
        permissions:
        - modifyworld.chat
        - -simplewarps.usesign
        - -simplewarps.list
        - -simplewarps.warpothers
        - -simplewarps.changeuseop
        - -simplewarps.reload
        - -simplewarps.addwarp
      Member:
        prefix: '&7(&1Membro&7)&f'
        permissions:
        - modifyworld.*
        - simplewarps.usesign
        inheritance:
        - default
        options:
          rank: '900
      Moderator:
        prefix: "&7(&2Moderador&7)&2'
        suffix: ''
        permissions:
        - simplewarps.list
        - simplewarps.warpothers
        options:
          rank: '100'
        inheritance:
        - Member
      Admins:
        prefix: '&7(&4BIG_BOSS&7)&6'
        suffix: ''
        permissions:
        - modifyworld.*
        - permissions.*
        - simplewarps.list
        - simplewarps.warpothers
        - simplewarps.changeuseop
        - simplewarps.reload
        - simplewarps.addwarp
        - simplewarps.setsign
        - simplewarps.usesign
        - simplewarps.warps.*
        options:
          rank: '1'
    users:
      tester:
        group:
        - Member
      Kamikazesk0:
        group:
        - Admins
    Added suffix aswell should work

    Server cant keep up message happens when the server is overloaded, foe example one million flowers drop in one area, and freezes the server up. (happened to me and i spawned it in) and maybe you did not allocate enguf RAM to the server.
     
  25. Offline

    Kamikazesk0

    Awesome, thanks, i'll try and look into allocating more RAM to the server. AS soon as I test this, I'm informing ^^

    I haven't added any worlds within PEX permissions file, but what I did pretty much was set up 2 test servers, one to test plugins freely, along with multi-worlds, and the other where I work on PEX and add the plugins I tested previously no the first server, one by one.

    If you're asking how to add more than one world and per-world permissions on PEX, I don't know, I haven't got that far yet. If you're asking me how to have more than one world working on your server, you being able to switch worlds and so on, it's pretty easy. Just go on Bukkitdev, and browse along the Teleportation category. There are several plugins referring to warps (which you can look into but that's not what we're talking about here), and there are some like MyWorlds (the one I use), Stargates, WormHole. (Some names might not correspond, I don't really know how to work with any but MyWorlds).

    Regarding MyWorlds, simply put the plugin in the plugins folder, start, shut, a restart the server, and from then on, you just have to load the worlds ingame through commands, and you can build portals to access each world and so on. But all of this is thouroughly explained in MyWorlds BukkitDev page ^^
     
  26. Offline

    Kamikazesk0

    I already had some memory allocated, or at least I think so, but since the modifications you made to the code, I didn't get any other problem or any message ond the cmd line, so tyvm! I might drop by for further questions :)
     
  27. Offline

    zipron

    seems like a nice tutorial, good job =)
     
  28. Offline

    Kamikazesk0

    Hello again, I have 2 more questions I was hoping you guys could answer, regardig permissions and plugins:

    I- I've built the permissions almost to its full extent regarding the plugins I'm using, but I found an issue, as I did the following:


    • Promoted and demoted myself from default to admin, and every plugin works fine, but on groups Default & Member (the ones with most restrictions), I was able to, as an OP on the bukkit OPs file, change gamemode, time, give command, and all those other OP related commands. And that's my problem, I'm fine with my Admin & Moderator group having those priviledges, but not my first 2 groups. How do I deny them these commands? Are there any nodes from bukkit I can use on PEX?
    II- I'm currently using SimpleWarps on the server, as it's simple, easy to config on PEX and works like a charm, even between worlds. But I have a question, is there any plugin that allows me to load more than one world on start, rather than having a multiworld plugin that screws up my portals. I basically wanted the whole "nether & the end" realms to be as they are, you craft the portal, or you find one, and off you go. These plugins load the world and alter the mechanics of portals, and I wanted to use SimpleWarps to access my custom worlds, but being able to load these without affecting nether and the end teleportation... any ideas?
     
  29. Offline

    zipron


    On your first point: OPs always have permission for all commands, and there isn't a node to deny it as far as I know because OP permissions are hard coded in plugins.
     
  30. Offline

    Kamikazesk0

    dang, that sucks, but regarding give commands and time commands, any thoughts?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page