System Cannot Find File, Server Crash.. [pls help]

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Jeff.Halbert, Apr 19, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Jeff.Halbert

I'm trying to make a very simplistic chest protection system. The core concept is: when a chest is placed, it's registered to the player who placed it. After registration, no one can interact with the chest besides the player that placed/registered it. Please take a look at what I have so far, (im a noob, this is my first plugin attempt :-D), but it's not working. I'm recieving error messages in the server log that read:
    [SEVERE] plugins/ChestProtect/Chests/subspec.txt (The system cannot find the file specified)
    That's when ever the player doesn't already have a file. The chest is accessable to everyone. Then when you place another chest it doesn't allow ANYONE to interact with it, and the server crashes.

I'm running craftbukkit-1.2.5-R1.0.jar for my server, and I have to two classes in the plugin jar.

Where am I going wrong?

[​IMG]
    [​IMG][​IMG]

2. Offline

CorrieKay

wait hold on, you got the server to actually crash?

...with a plugin?

Edit: now for the actual plugin itsself:

Okay right off the bat im seeing an issue with your directory. instead of maindirectory as is, do this
    Static string maindirectory = this.getDataFolder()+File.separator+"Chests";

Also, instead of just assuming the directory doesnt exist, you should do a check.

In your player interact event, you should actually be listening for inventory open events instead.

Once you do that, you can check if the inventory owner is an instance of a chest or double chest, etc.

inside of the event, you dont make a check if the file exists, either use an if(!file.exists()) statement, or handle the exception that is thrown (the first one preferrably..)