[SOLVED]item despawn faster then normally

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by ceoepts, Jul 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

ceoepts

Is there any way to make a item despawn faster then normally?
    I found ItemDespawnEvent but i dont know how i can use it to despawn items faster :S
    I started coding java yesterday so im a bit of a newbie.
    Sorry for my english.

2. you can use your own loop when an item is dropped, and despawn if the despawn ttime is over

3. Offline

ceoepts

Im sorry im a bit of a newbie in java and bukkit modding could you give me a exemple code and explain what i does :)

4. Offline

Father Of Time

There should be, if you set the ticks lived it in theory should speed up the decay time; sadly just like the last post I made I am already aware that this has a bug in it currently and is not functional; you can view the bug report I made by going to bukkits bug tracker and searching for itemDespawn.

In short the problem is that for some reason the items despawning is using a local variable in craftbukkit and not the age variable inside the CraftEntity class. Because of this even if you keep rolling the age back (or in your case forward) it simple does nothing and will still decay at 5000 ticks because that it is using a variable that we can't access server side.

This is doable once this bug is fixed, but sadly it is not possible in the current 1.2.5 RB 4... :(

That is without reflections and native code calls (which is what we did to get around this for the time being); however, even this has side effects... the server understands the despawn change, but the client doesn't; so the item will disappear server side when your code decides, but the client continues to use it's internal timer and decays at a different time... So in my instance the item would decay "vanish" even though in reality I had stopped the despawn, so I would have to log in and back out in order to see the item again...