[Solved] How do you define a new Location with a set X, Y and Z?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by macwinexpert, Jun 10, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

macwinexpert

Hey Guys!

This is probably really noobish, but how do you define a new Location with a given X, Y, and Z in a world??

I tried first defining them as null, but that doesn't work :(

This is what I have so far:

Code:
    Location cube1 = null;
    Location cube2 = null;

cube1.setX(123); cube1.setY(105); cube1.setZ(-118);
    cube2.setX(130); cube2.setY(105); cube2.setZ(-137);
    You might have guessed, but I'm very new to Java :p Any help??

Many thanks in advance!

Hamish (macwinexpert)

2. Offline

macwinexpert

That is exactly what I was hoping people wouldn't reply with! I saw this before I posted this thread, but didn't understand how to implement it! Could you just show me an example?

Thanks again!

Hamish (macwinexpert)

3. Offline

I_am_not_funny

Yeah, you should really learn more java.

4. Offline

r0306

Code:
    Location location = "your location";
    int x = location.getBlockX();
    int y = location.getBlockY();
    int z = location.getBlockZ();
    World w = location.getWorld();
    Location loc = new Location(w, x, y, z); //defines new location

5. Offline

macwinexpert

Ok thanks, I understand all of that except for the first line, what is "your location"??

6. Offline

Suprem20

The location of the thing you want, for example, the location of a player, block, etc...

So:

Code:
    Location location = player.getlocation();

7. Offline

macwinexpert

That's not what I want to do though, I want to define a new location with a set X, Y and Z, not the location of something already defined like a player!

8. Offline

Suprem20

Code:
        public void tpPlayerToSetLocation (Player p) {

Block b = getServer().getWorld("world").getBlockAt(120, 100, -65);

if (b != null) {

p.teleport(b.getLocation());
            }
        }