Setting Block Resistance Values

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Zachster, Jan 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Zachster

I like to build these Monster Arenas with a bunch of spawners that spawn monsters. Included in these monsters are creepers. I want to make a plugin for my server that gives glowstone the explosion resistance of obsidian or bedrock (bedrock preferably) but maintain its hardness and "mineability", if you will. I know this is probably a noob question but I'm just getting started with plugin development.

2. Offline

gyroninja

Try getting the Block_break event check if its in the "arena", check if its glowstone. Check if a player broke it... PROFIT

3. Offline

Zachster

Is there just a way to make it explosion resistant that's all I'm asking.

4. Offline

gyroninja

Don't think theres a way to directly do it. D:

5. Offline

desht

Hook the onEntityExplode event (EntityExplodeEvent). In your handler, get the list of affected blocks with event.blockList(), and remove any glowstone blocks from that list.

That should make glowstone immune to explosions - adding resistance is a little more work. Two possible ways:
    1. Track the damage taken to each block and remove the block if the damage exceeds a certain level. Could lead to a lot of storage requirements, and persistence would need to be considered.
    2. (Easier) Add a random possibility that the block will be removed if it's hit by an explosion, perhaps proportional to the distance of the block from the explosion's centre (event.getLocation())
    Hmm, that could be generalised into a configurable explosion-resistance plugin where damage resistance could be defined on a per-block basis :)

RROD likes this.