Inactive [RPG] The MineQuest v0.61 - RPG System with Customizable Quests, Classes, and NPCs [1000]

Discussion in 'Inactive/Unsupported Plugins' started by jmonk, Mar 14, 2011.

  1. Offline

    jmonk

    MineQuest - RPG System with Customizable Quests and Classes
    Version: 0.62-test
    Website:http://www.theminequest.com/
    Overview:
    MineQuest started out as a plugin to add some RPG-like progression to Minecraft. It had 8 (By default, now completely customizable) character classes (4 Combat, 4 Resource - also by default) and you gained experience by doing tasks related to the class (e.g. Warriors fight with a Sword, or WarMages cast WarMage Spells). All combat classes gained health when they went up in levels, and all classes gained related abilities at certain levels.

    An example of a custom class configuration is now available: http://www.theminequest.com/node/112

    Now MineQuest has grown to be a much bigger project than gaining abilities and extra health. It includes mobs that get harder over time based on a level adjustment (determined by active players in the server). It has built in economy(iConomy Supported)/town systems that are available if people so desire. Most likely the coolest thing so far is the quest system.

    Good Places to start in game are /minequest, /cubonomy (economy), and /quest (questing specific). Also poking around the help pages (Linked as more information below) gives some details about more advanced commands as well.

    Quests:
    MineQuest is equipped with a system that is being developed so that minecraft can have real instanced dungeons where a select party can teleport into a world that has traps, harder monsters, and special loot. When complete players are brought back to their original locations.

    These quests are completely customizable as they only load from a text file. MineQuest will search the bukkit directory for the appropriate .quest file when the quest is started. This means that anyone running a server could write a quest. Not just plugin developers!

    The spell system is nothing special, and I'm sure that others exist out there, but what really makes MineQuest unique is the complete package, dungeons and everything.

    Requirements:
    MySQL or SQLite

    Suspected Conflicts:
    Towny, Essentials Spawn, World Guard, mcMMO,
    Other plugins that modify damage/health

    Video:
    This is a video of the first real dungeon created, the first time through http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Vq85ppcwuM8

    MineQuest 0.40 Trailer - http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kx8tYNb0MCM

    Installation:
    http://www.theminequest.com/node/3

    Whats new in 0.60?
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=jB9-N9XWfJE

    Downloads:
    http://www.theminequest.com/node/35
    Backup: http://code.google.com/p/minequest/downloads/list

    Support:
    Please read the following FAQ before posting your question. It will help you out by getting the answer faster and help us out by having a smaller volume of questions.
    http://www.theminequest.com/node/36
    There are some forums on the MineQuest site found below.
    http://www.theminequest.com/forum
    If you cannot solve your issues in the MQ Forums and from the FAQ and the bug does not already exist please post it on the bug tracker.
    http://bugs.theminequest.com/projects/minequest

    More Info:
    Information about MineQuest and its features
    http://www.theminequest.com/node/11

    Changelog:
    Version 0.61:
    *NPC Fix Item Properties (Blacksmith Capabilities)
    *Fixed Ranged Ability Bindings
    *Other NPC Property changes
    *Bug Fixes
    Version 0.60:
    *Idle Quest System
    *Main World Scripting
    *Reputation System
    Version 0.53:
    *Fixed Instancing System
    *Fixed NPC Respawning Issue
    *Updated to b860
    *Fixed money naming
    *A couple hidden features

    Full Changelog:
    http://www.theminequest.com/node/74

    If you love MineQuest then help keep the project alive: http://www.theminequest.com/node/164
     
  2. Offline

    unrivaledneo

    Really enjoy this plugin, working on creating a DnD type server with it, had a few ideas for action, like upon completion of a quest or talking to a npc have them set the players spawn point.

    Skill wise ability to create a "search" skill that allows the players in a dungeon to search for hidden doors or what not

    Sneak Attack type skill, i saw the backsttack and curious if able to make a passive skill if crouched you do X2 more dmg etc


    I tested out the Rogue but was unable to add him in, followed your steps even used your files but i cant add him, or it wont show up in game
     
  3. Offline

    ltan

    Good Morning everyone.

    I just wanted to hop on here and give a quick update. It looks as though the last test release has corrected a lot of the bugs. Right now the only issue left is projectile weapons. Somewhere along the way from CB1000 to CB 1060, they changed how projectiles are handled. We are still looking at how to get this fixed quickly.

    I want to give a fair warning note however... With MC1.8 coming out, it looks like MQ will need a partial if not complete re-organization of the code. We will not know until the official release of MC1.8 and then the subsequent release of CB. We are still planning to continue on with MQ, so don't worry about that! We just might be slow at getting it back up and running depending on the other two dependencies of the plugin.

    With that I will leave you with:::

    the last posted Test Candidate for MQ0.62 is pretty much completed with the following execptions:

    Health foods do not work properly. They *work*, but you don't need to eat them LOL. Just try left clicking with an apple while you are hurt!

    Projectile weapons and bound spells. While they work in CB, they do not register properly in MQ right now. Melee and Look_Binds are the best weapons to use.

    Quests are completely working! However on the kill tasks, do not use projectile weapons or spells bound to projectile weapons. This will have you sitting there essentially forever waiting for the task to end and it won't.

    Well, I am going to bed now as it is 1:30 am where I am and I need to get up in 4 hours.. sigh...

    Ltan
     
  4. Offline

    Kelvorn

    First off, hey Ltan, how have you been? I see you are still busy as ever!
    I have been very busy spending time with my new Son and haven't been on here nearly enough.
    But I do have a question for you or Jmonk regarding MC 1.8+1.9:
    How will this impact the MQ leveling system with the addition of exp and levels in MC?
    And are we now able to give/take items from players inventories from quests? (for an example: have a quest where they need to bring NPC 64 sand, player takes sand to NPC, NPC "takes" sand and rewards player.)

    I look forward to life getting back to normal and starting up the RP server with dozens of quests for my players again :D
     
  5. Offline

    ltan

    Holy Carpal Tunnel! I see now why you have not been around! Congrats my friend!

    How MC1.8 will affect exp and levels in MQ has yet to be fully realized. And it won't be until CB releases something we can work off of.

    As of this moment, no... there is still no inventory clearing etc in MQ. It may be added after we get things working with MC1.8, but I cannot promise anything right now.

    Show Spoiler
    [/code]


    Wow. I am guessing that you have already been running MQ for a while and this error just popped up right? I also see that you are using the older MQ0.61 code. Would you mind updating to the latest test code and see if that corrects your issue if you are still having it?

    Ltan

    Hey Shadowbane. You are right. Things are a bit slow for us. School has started back for some of us. Things have gotten more hectic at work for others. And still others have other things happening that are taking their time as well. However, these are just time eaters and things are still being worked on that are moving MQ forward. Just painfully slowly. I certainly appreciate everyone being patient with us as we try and regroup and squeeze a few dimes from pennies... Err... more simply as we try to put more time in our schedules to work on MQ :D

    Ltan

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2016
  6. Offline

    Kelvorn

    Thank you :D
    Yep I figured we wouldn't know till then. I am thinking that it may not be much of an issue at all since from what I have seen there is a way to get exp orbs (for buying abilities in 1.9?) but you don't actually as of 1.8 seem to level up and gain more Hit Points or anything like that. So for now I think it is better to call them Currency Orbs then Exp orbs lol.

    Let me know if there is anthing I can help you and Jmonk with.
     
  7. Offline

    Trottimus

    Just wanted to pop by and congratulate the team working on Minequest for such a wonderful mod!

    We will be implementing it on our Hatventures Public server, and we're certainly looking forward to it, and what you come up with 1.8!

    Keep up the good work chaps! :)
     
  8. Offline

    Kelvorn

    Hey Jmonk I know you and the guys will be very very busy with 1.9 and all but if I could make one request: I would like an option to allow mobs into towns with the exception of Creepers and Ghasts. Is this an easy possibility?
     
  9. Offline

    unrivaledneo

    Curious if yall gonna update this for the 1.8 recon build or just wait till the 1.9 since its just around the corner
     
  10. Offline

    ltan

    As of right now, we are working on getting compatibility with 1.8.1 done. If it happens that 1.9 is released before we do ours, then we will incorporate the newer MC1.9 into the MQ release. Time will tell I guess :D
     
  11. Offline

    ltan

  12. Offline

    unrivaledneo

    Not sure if bug or just doing it wrong. Downloaded the Quest Dungeon to test it out in 1.8. Put the map and the .quest in the root dir of CB. Botted up, spawned my npc then /npc_property Dox quest Dungeon

    but still wont give it to the player
     
  13. Offline

    ltan

    Thanks Unrivaled... looking into it now
     
  14. Offline

    unrivaledneo

    Just testing like crazy for ya, been waiting for this.

    Next thing I found is perms problem, give player the '*' perms they can access the help files what not, but with the minequest.command.quester/help/* they get nothin.
     
  15. Offline

    Logifanogi

    It would be nice if there was a way to disable not being able to use items from start. That would be great for some servers, but not mine. Is there a way to do that but still have the mod work?
     
  16. Offline

    Makraiz

    Yes. it's configurable in the combat and resource class properties files. Change the line that reads classname_levels= to a series of zeroes where there were previously defined values. For armor_types=, make the field blank after the =.
    This will enable all armor and weapons, while still giving experience for combat and resource gathering.
     
    Logifanogi likes this.
  17. Offline

    Logifanogi

    Thanks! I'm a noob at scripting, so at armor_types=, is that like: Digger_armor= 298,301,300,299 or like: Digger_armor_levels=2,2,2,2?
    Thanks for the help!

    *Edit* Never mind, I figured it out! ;)
     
  18. Offline

    Makraiz

    No problem, if you want quicker answers, I'm online in #minequest in the IRC channel at esper.net
     
    Logifanogi likes this.
  19. Offline

    Logifanogi

    Okay thanks! One quick question. How do I tell if the NPCs worked? I haven't seen any, and the /help MineQuest doesn't tell me about bots.
     
  20. Offline

    Makraiz

    NPC's have been reported broken by someone else also. It's being looked into. I'll test the dev build in a little bit and let you know if that version fixes it.

    Normally when it's working properly, an npc will spawn instantly in your location. (this if for the command /spawn_npc)

    Edit: I encountered some other issues last night w/ my server so I didn't get a chance to test like I said I would. I apologize, but I will let you know once I get the issues fixed and test the dev version on my server.
     
    Logifanogi likes this.
  21. Offline

    AFakeman

    Any chance for 1185 support?
     
  22. Offline

    ItsQ

    Source from : http://www.theminequest.com/node/43

    Is there a way to change this to all '0' ?
    Also, how can I remove a class (mage's) from the plugin?
    And how can I remove the limit on armour use?
     
  23. Offline

    Makraiz

    I had already answered two of your questions at the top of the page you just posted on.
    To answer your third question, to remove the mage class, at the top of your combat_classes.properties you can just remove their name from the list. For example, mine looks like
    Code:
    names=Warrior,Archer,Priest,Wizard,Rogue
    and yours would probably want to look like this:
    Code:
    names=Warrior,Archer
    You will then have to remove all the lines afterwards pertaining to the classes you don't want. If you want to keep some of their ablities in the game, you can redefine which classes get what abilities in the abil_classes.properties file.
     
  24. Offline

    JuezFenix

    Hi all,

    I'm trying to use minequest, iconomy 6 and cashflow, but i get this error:

    Code:
    2011-10-07 09:51:23 [SEVERE] Could not pass event PLUGIN_ENABLE to MineQuest
    java.lang.NoClassDefFoundError: com/iConomy/iConomy
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.MineQuest.setIConomy(MineQuest.java:1408)
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Listener.MineQuestServerListener.onPluginEnable(MineQuestServerListener.java:47)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$47.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:569)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:58)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:339)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader.enablePlugin(JavaPluginLoader.java:948)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.enablePlugin(SimplePluginManager.java:280)
        at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftServer.loadPlugin(CraftServer.java:174)
        at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftServer.enablePlugins(CraftServer.java:157)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.e(MinecraftServer.java:297)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.a(MinecraftServer.java:284)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.init(MinecraftServer.java:152)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:348)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:417)
    Caused by: java.lang.ClassNotFoundException: com.iConomy.iConomy
        at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(Unknown Source)
        at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
        at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(Unknown Source)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.PluginClassLoader.findClass(PluginClassLoader.java:36)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.PluginClassLoader.findClass(PluginClassLoader.java:24)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(Unknown Source)
        ... 14 more
    What can be happening?
     
    Jotolink likes this.
  25. Offline

    ItsQ

    Code:
    #Thu Oct 06 18:05:50 CEST 2011
    Archer_armor_blocks=0,0,0,0
    Archer_armor=306,307,308,309,310,311,312,313,269,270,271,282,314,315,316,317
    Warrior_armor_levels=0,0,0,0
    Archer_crit_chance=.05,0
    Archer_level_mana=0
    Archer_char_dmg_adj=10,10
    Warrior_types=268,283,272,267,276
    Archer_armor_defend=0,0,0,0
    Warrior_levels=0,2,5,20,50
    Archer_max_dmg=3,1
    Archer_levels=0,5
    Warrior_level_mana=0
    Archer_armor_levels=0,0,0,0
    Warrior_max_dmg=1,2,3,3,4
    Warrior_level_health=4
    Archer_class_dmg_adj=5,5
    Warrior_base_dmg=1,1,1,2,3
    Warrior_armor=306,307,308,309,310,311,312,313,269,270,271,282,314,315,316,317
    Warrior_crit_chance=.01,.02,.05,.05,.1
    Archer_types=261,262
    Warrior_armor_blocks=2,2,2,2
    Archer_level_health=6
    Warrior_class_dmg_adj=5,5,5,5,5
    Warrior_char_dmg_adj=10,10,10,10,10
    names=Warrior,Archer
    Warrior_armor_defend=.1,.25,.2,.15
    Archer_base_dmg=1,1
    Like this?

    I'm getting errors:

    Code:
    2011-10-07 14:35:15 [INFO] [MineQuest] [WARNING] SkillClass with no type - WarMage
    2011-10-07 14:35:15 [SEVERE] Could not pass event BLOCK_BREAK to MineQuest
    java.lang.NullPointerException
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Quester.SkillClass.SkillClass.isClassItem(SkillClass.java:649)
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Quester.Quester.destroyBlock(Quester.java:1298)
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Listener.MineQuestBlockListener.onBlockBreak(MineQuestBlockListener.java:81)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$39.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:511)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:58)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:338)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.c(ItemInWorldManager.java:195)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.a(ItemInWorldManager.java:159)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:500)
        at net.minecraft.server.Packet14BlockDig.a(SourceFile:43)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetworkManager.b(NetworkManager.java:226)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:92)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetworkListenThread.a(SourceFile:108)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:464)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:374)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:417)
    
    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2016
  26. Offline

    Makraiz

    There needs to be a 0 in the level line for each armor type. Basically, the armor types line defines which item ids can be worn by the class, and the armor levels defines which level each item id in the armor type line is available at.
     
  27. Offline

    ItsQ

    oke, thanks i fixs that now.
    New Error:

    Code:
    2011-10-07 16:31:35 [SEVERE] Could not pass event ENTITY_DAMAGE to MineQuest
    java.lang.NullPointerException
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Quester.SkillClass.SkillClass.defend(SkillClass.java:367)
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Quester.Quester.defendEntity(Quester.java:1262)
        at org.monksanctum.MineQuest.Listener.MineQuestEntityListener.onEntityDamage(MineQuestEntityListener.java:110)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$61.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:670)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:58)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:338)
        at net.minecraft.server.EntityHuman.damageEntity(EntityHuman.java:569)
        at net.minecraft.server.EntityPlayer.damageEntity(EntityPlayer.java:200)
        at net.minecraft.server.EntityArrow.s_(EntityArrow.java:199)
        at net.minecraft.server.World.entityJoinedWorld(World.java:1193)
        at net.minecraft.server.WorldServer.entityJoinedWorld(WorldServer.java:48)
        at net.minecraft.server.World.playerJoinedWorld(World.java:1175)
        at net.minecraft.server.World.cleanUp(World.java:1090)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:460)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:374)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:417)
    
    Is there a way to remove all abillitys from this plugin?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2016
  28. Offline

    Makraiz

    I'm not exactly sure what you're trying to accomplish.. are you planning on just using the quest system, and leaving all the combat mechanics out of it?
     
  29. Offline

    ItsQ

    i want to use the quest system + the combat classes Warrior and archer + miner,farmer,woodcutter,digger
    All that but without he "abilitys" so you cant cast spells and stuff like that.
    No magic in the plugin
     
  30. Offline

    Makraiz

    Ah ok. To take out the magic you will have to go into the abil_classes.properties and change the values of the abilities/spells you don't want in the game. You can leave them blank, or rename them to a class you have removed. Also, to make things a bit easier, you can change
    deny_non_class=true
    to false in your general.properties file. This will make it so that even if an item is not a class weapon, they can still use it, they just won't gain experience from its usage. Alternatively you could add all the weapons to your classes and limit the classes to 1.
     
  31. Offline

    ItsQ

    Thanks, i have set all abil_config to level 60 and to warmage
    i have removed the warmage from the list so you dont get them at start

    Also can you set it like:

    New player joins > he got no-class > he first needs to get a class
    Or somtine like you can only have 1 class set at the time?

    And are each class its own permission?

    /spawn_npc bob
    Don't seems to work in 1,8 :S

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 17, 2016

Share This Page