Random Generator Code

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Laxer21117, Apr 18, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Laxer21117

I am making a plugin that has one command and I want to know how to make that one command randomly generate a message that I set in the code. If you know this please pm me asap

2. Offline

adam753

This is a very basic java question. Just use the Random class to make a random number and then do a switch statement on it to pick the message.

3. Offline

Laxer21117

adam753 I am sorry I am still a bit new to coding. So I make a class, list all of my jokes in there then add a switch statement and it will randomly generate messages on that one command? I am sorry. But I still don't quite understand how to make a switch statement.

4. Offline

xAstraah

The easiest way to do this would be to use the Random() statement then make your Strings 1 - *End Number* Then have a integer between 1 - *End number* then it will get your random joke.

5. Offline

TomFromCollege

Code:
    private String[] jokes = new String[] {"Joke1","Joke2" };
    private static Random random = new Random();

public String getRandomJoke() {
    return jokes[random.nextInt(jokes.length)];
    }

Mathias Eklund likes this.
  6. Offline

Badeye

Firstly, google "java random number" and "java switch statement" and you will find stackoverflow pages, where people asked the exact same thing and where people gave amazingly good awnsers. Very helpful, add it to your bookmarks :)

Now, first create a random number, where NumberOfYourMessages are just the amount of messages you have. Replace it with an integer value, like 3 or 5:
    Code:java
    1. Random rand = new Random();
    2. int random;
    3. random = rand.nextInt(NumberOfYourMessages);

Now you can go the easy way and add if statements (probably the better way it you have only 2 or 3 messages):
    1. if(random == 0)
    2. System.out.println("Message1");
    3. else if(random == 1)