Problem with my server

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by knifehawk, May 30, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    knifehawk

    Things I've done:
    •Port forwarded (Triple checked)
    • Correct RUN.bat
    •I can log on but nobody else can
    • I log on through 192.168.1.65 (IPv4 Address)
    •My vanilla server works perfectly with the same ip. (not at the same time obviously)

    I don't see the problem and it's frustrating.
    I also used to play on my Bukkit server untill one time when I was playing Survival games I saved my server and then stopped it, and then the RUN.bat went missing. So I made a new one and I could only join via localhost.
     
  2. Offline

    LilacTheEspeon

    You are using your external IP right?
     
  3. Offline

    knifehawk

    My friends login through my external ip, I login through my IPv4 address
     
  4. Offline

    TnT Retired Staff

    Check to make sure your server-ip= line is blank.

    Check your external IP at canyouseeme.org. If this fails, you need to check your router firewall and server (Windows 7 I am guessing) firewall.
     
  5. Offline

    knifehawk

    Okay so I went to that website and this is what I got:
    Error: I could not see your service on ***.***.***.*** on port (25565)
    Reason: Connection timed out
     
  6. Offline

    TnT Retired Staff

    knifehawk Make sure you now follow the rest of my advice.
     
  7. Offline

    knifehawk

    I did, still no luck
     
  8. Offline

    andrewpo

    If your router's DHCP server regularly changes your internal network IPv4 address, it may mean that your port forwarding breaks (depending on how it's set up) so external clients will be unable to connect.
     
  9. Offline

    knifehawk

    I re-entered the ports, before you told me this. What should I do involving IPv4?
     
  10. Offline

    andrewpo

    Is the server machine assigned a static IP address?
     
  11. Offline

    knifehawk

    I do have a static ip address
     
  12. Offline

    andrewpo

    Have you used canyouseeme.org?

    Use that website with port 25565, then if you get an error do each of these steps and after each step try using the website again:

    1. Check your firewall rules to ensure that TCP port 25565 is open
    2. Make sure your internal IP is static
    3. Double-check your router port forwarding settings, only TCP should be used - not UDP.
    4. Make sure you've not set server-ip in the server.properties file, and that the server-port is set to 25565.
    If the above doesn't fix it, reply again.
     
  13. Offline

    codename_B

    192.168.1.65 is localhost?
     
  14. Offline

    knifehawk

    No, it's my IPv4 address.
     
  15. Offline

    codename_B

    Most routers use a 192.168. X . XXX naming system to assign an IP address to the computer.
    It's not your external ip.
     
  16. Offline

    andrewpo

    Go to www.whatsmyip.org - your IP address will be shown in big letters at the top of the page, this is what others should be using to connect to your server.

    Internal IP ranges are commonly:
    10.0.0.*
    192.168.0.*
    192.168.1.*
    172.16.* - 172.28.*

    and addresses like those will not be usable from outside your LAN, unless you have a VPN set up which I doubt.
     
  17. Offline

    knifehawk

    I know what an internal ip is, and an external ip

    I use whatsmyip.org for whenever my friend used to ask what my ip is. Back when it was working.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  18. Offline

    andrewpo

    Have you done these?
     
  19. Offline

    knifehawk

    I just went to check that only the TCP port is open for 25565. Yes, it's the only 25565 port open.

    Okay so it says DHCP is enabled in the command prompt. How do I get a static ip address?
    If it helps I'm using Windows 7 home premium.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  20. Offline

    knifehawk

  21. Offline

    odielag

    Ok. Some points need to be made clear...

    1. 10.x.x.x and 192.x.x.x are reserved for local networks. They are NEVER public IP addresses.
    2. I just google... "what is my ip" and it should bring up your ip without even having to click links.
    3. Hope that helps.
     
  22. Offline

    knifehawk

    My friends log in through the whatsmyip ip. I used that ip from whatsmyip for can canyouseeme. My friends can play perfectly on my Vanilla server, it uses the same ip.
     
  23. Offline

    andrewpo

    Thanks for paraphrasing what codename_B and myself said.
     
    knifehawk likes this.
  24. Offline

    odielag

    let me guess... is your friend in your neighborhood? Using the same ISP? You and your friend could be on the same private network still.

    I'm absolutely sure anything that starts with 192.168... is not a public ip address (used to be cisco certified).

    You're welcome : )

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  25. Offline

    knifehawk

    I know what my ip is, my friends aren't in the same neighborhood they live in different countries.

    For everyone out there who's posting.
    It's a problem with Bukkit.
    As we speak I'm playing on my vanilla server with my friends, because Bukkit isn't working.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  26. Offline

    odielag

    Did you set the server ip to your public ip in server.properties?
     
  27. Offline

    knifehawk

    2012-05-31_15.20.04.png

    View attachment 9844

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  28. Offline

    andrewpo

    I hate to sound rude but we're not going to get anywhere by repeating what's been said previously in this topic, which is all you seem to have done so far - TnT has already brought up the potential server-ip issue.


    Make a backup of your existing Bukkit folder.

    Create a new folder for a test Bukkit installation.

    Download Bukkit from http://dl.bukkit.org/ into your new folder

    Set up a start script

    Try to run Bukkit


    If you have no problems with a fresh install, it means that the configuration you're using is wrong and we can attempt to aid you in fixing it.
     
    odielag likes this.
  29. Offline

    knifehawk

    Okay so I made a new Bukkit folder and started it and it still doesn't show up on my friends server list but it shows up on mine as localhost. Still not working :(

    After doing some research I googled what's my ip and Google said my ip is 2602:306:cf09:8eb0:f98c:df0:8040:e2f3

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 26, 2016
  30. Offline

    andrewpo

    So you have not port forwarded correctly.

    Just give up and get Hamachi, you're a lost cause.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page