Solved Player UUID Fails :P

Discussion in 'Plugin Help/Development/Requests' started by 2008Choco, Mar 15, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

2008Choco

Hello :) I'm new to the developing world of Bukkit, and I am completely bombing it. Haha. I've been trying to get just a very very simple plugin to test, and I always have the same issue. UUID's! I have no idea how to get a players UUID and use it the same way as I would a player name. Here is the code that I have right now:

Code:
    package me.choco.test;

import java.util.UUID;

import org.bukkit.Bukkit;
    import org.bukkit.Color;
    import org.bukkit.command.Command;
    import org.bukkit.command.CommandSender;
    import org.bukkit.entity.Player;
    import org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPlugin;

public class Test extends JavaPlugin{

@Override
        public void onEnable() {
            getLogger().info("Hello :)");
        }

@Override
        public void onDisable() {
            getLogger().info("The plugin has been successfully disabled");
        }

@SuppressWarnings("deprecation")
        public boolean onCommand(CommandSender sender, Command cmd, String commandLabel, String[] args) {
            if (commandLabel.equalsIgnoreCase("namelength")){
                UUID uuid = Bukkit.getServer().getPlayer(args[0]).getUniqueId();
                Player player = Bukkit.getServer().getPlayer(uuid);
                player.sendMessage("Your name is " + sender.getName().length() + " characters long");
                return true;
            }
            if (commandLabel.equalsIgnoreCase("")){

}
            return false;
        }
    }
    If someone could please explain to me how to use UUID's instead of Player Names? I tried suppressing the deprecation on Bukkit.getServer().getPlayer(args[0]) but it still didn't help >.< I just need a little help :3 Help a new developer out please :D I'd appreciate it

2. Offline

pie_flavor