player.getName() to string?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Razorcane, Oct 8, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Razorcane

Ok, so here's what I'm trying to do. I use a command to input a username into a .txt file. I then search all the files used by separate commands(such as guests.txt, admins.txt, etc.) for the username. I want to have an if statement(per file) to check whether a user(online player) is in that file or not, and run code based on which .txt file the user is in. I'm fairly new to Java so I haven't completely unwrapped all of it's constructors, so any help would be appreciated.'

If you need any further explanation I will give it my best. Sorry about the thread name, that's the general idea of what I'm wanting to.

2. Offline

Razorcane

Thanks but I'm not a fan of yml. I use config.txt for all of my configurations.

3. Offline

Razorcane

I already use the File method. The problem is searching for a line that is the exact same as the username.

4. Offline

Sagacious_Zed Bukkit Docs

Really make it easy on yourself and use the Configuration class, all this done for you. You just need to reference the String you want by node it is on.
    If you really wanted to you can write out the yaml to a file that ends in txt.

But if you insist.
    You have several tools, but you are probably best of using the Scanner Class, to read the file line by line. Then run a Matcher/Pattern classes on each line to see if a value exists.

5. Offline

Razorcane

I think I'll be able to use a while loop to cycle through each line, something like:
    NOTE: br = BufferedReader.

Code:
    while ((user = br.readLine()) != null) {
        //TODO
    }

And then maybe run an if statement in the while loop like so:

Code:
    if(user == player.getName()) {  //TODO }
    Of course, using this method would call the while loop until it found the right name, so that would use up resources. But I think it would work.

6. Offline