My first plugin!

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by AcePilot10, Nov 28, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

AcePilot10

Hi people of Bukkit, i'm extremely new to coding. I was hoping somebody could take a look at my code. The game is infection. I don't even know if there is anything wrong with it but I wanted somebody to take a look at it to see if there is anything wrong with it. So heres my code http://prntscr.com/5b63jf
    http://prntscr.com/5b66aq
    Thanks for readin!

2. AcePilot10 First off, no need to say it is enabled/disabled Bukkit already does that. Secondly label.equalsIgnoreCase("") is not correct it is command.equalsIgnoreCase(""). Thirdly i11 is always 0 so the game can never start. Lastly, if you want multiple arguments it isn't command.equalsIgnoreCase("something 2") you have to use arguments.

3. Offline

Googlelover1234

AcePilot10
    Why don't you test the plugin and see if there's anything wrong..?

ChipDev likes this.
  4. Offline

teej107

Your code posting method.... *facepalm*

As for you code, do you have a reason on why you are using static?

Nedinator likes this.
  5. There are a few problems.

1. Package naming convention is lowercase.
    2. You don't need messages in onEnable() and onDisable(), Bukkit does this automatically.
    3. Is there any reason you canStart and hasStarted fields are static?
    4. Method naming convention is camelCase
    5. You set hasStarted to true and then immediately check if it's true. If it isn't at this point, something has gone horribly wrong.
    6. I think you're missing braces on your if statement.
    7. There's a lot of indentation errors - eclipse can correct this for you if you ask it to.
    8. Your onCommand has no Override annotation - this isn't necessarily a big problem, but it's good practice to put it when overriding a method as it will cause a compilation error if you try to override a method that doesn't exist (good for preventing typos)