Inactive [MECH/ECON] Showcase v0.8.1 - Create visual shops by spawning drops on slabs [1.1-R5]

Discussion in 'Inactive/Unsupported Plugins' started by narrowtux, May 17, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    narrowtux

    [​IMG]
    Version 0.8.1​
    As supposed in this thread, I created a plugin that lets you put items into glass blocks (now steps, it's notchs fault) to showcase them. This is useable for shops, to show what's for sale there, or to make clear what type of farm you built.
    Features
    • Showcase all items in a half-step Block
    • Block protection (you can't break the step block and the block below it to prevent that the item falls down)
    • Multiworld
    • Items in a showcase can't be picked up
    • Only the player who created a showcase can remove it
    • Prevents despawning of items (Normally, drops disappear after 5 minutes)
    • You can setup finite and infinite shops
    • DropChest support (disables DropChest for absorbing the showcased items)
    • WorldGuard support (works out of the box)
    • Localisation
    • Can show custom item names through BukkitContrib
    • Economy support:
      • iConomy 4 & 5
      • BOSEconomy
      • Essentials Economy
    Download & Source-Code
    Download Showcase.jar
    Browse Source-Code on Github
    You will need an economy system if you want shops.
    This will install NarrowtuxLib automatically!
    Please donate, if you really like this ;)
    Videos
    Show Videos (open)





    When you have got issues, please read this:
    Issue Report (open)

    1. Please, first check if you have got the most recent version of Showcase and the most recent recommended build of Bukkit.
    2. Then, check if the bug is already listed in the "Known Bugs" section.
    3. After doing step 1+2, report the bug with at least this information:
      • Version of Showcase
      • Version of Bukkit
      • If possible, a step-by-step explanation of the bug
      • If possible, console errors
      • When you think that this has got to do with another plugin, please list all your plugins like this:
        • PluginA, PluginB, PluginC ...
    This will be incredible helpful for me to fix it faster.


    You don't actually have to retype everything I typed here, but if you'd take it as a guideline which content you should include in your issue report, it's more helpful ;)

    Please, don't come here just to say "This doesn't work.". This says nothing.


    Usage
    Adding a showcase
    1. Start sneaking!
    2. Right-click a half-step block with the item in your hand you want to showcase
    3. An assistant will ask you which type of Showcase you want to add. Type the text before the colon :))
    4. Depending on the type you chose, the assistant will ask some extra questions, follow the assistant to finish showcase creation.
    Removing a showcase

    1. Sneak
    2. Right-click on a showcase. If this was a finite showcase or an exchange showcase, you will get your items back.
    Permissions


    ActionPermission-NodeWithout Permissions
    Create a basic Showcase.showcase.basicPlayer
    Create a infinite shop Showcase.showcase.infiniteOperator
    Create a finite shop Showcase.showcase.finitePlayer
    Create an exchange Showcase.showcase.exchangePlayer
    Buy from a finite shop showcase.showcase.buy.finitePlayer
    Buy from an infinite shop showcase.showcase.buy.infinitePlayer
    Removing a showcase of other players.showcase.adminOperator

    The column "Without Permissions" explains which user-type can use this permission when no Permissions system is installed.
    What are shop showcases?
    A shop showcase can be used to sell items to your players. There are 2 types of shops now:
    1. Infinite shop. This one has an infinite amount of items. The money that the players give to buy an item will go to nirvana
    2. Finite shop. This one has that number of items which the owner has set up. The owner will get the money from which the items were bought.
    How can a Player buy items from a shop showcase?

    1. Click on the Showcase. The price per item and the available amount will be displayed.
    2. Type in the number of items you want and hit enter. A message will show you the success of the checkout.
      • Type 0 to abort checkout
    How can you refill a finite shop showcase?

    1. Click on it
    2. Type in the amount of items to refill. Negative values will remove that amount from the showcase.
    3. Walk away or type 0.
    Commands

    The showcase command handles manual saving and loading
    /showcase save
    Saves the items to showcases.csv
    /showcase load
    Loads the configuration, translation and items without saving (Use with caution)
    /showcase reload
    Saves and loads everything after that. Useful when some items aren't in place and you want to quick-fix that.

    Configuration
    The configuration file is auto-generated and is called showcase.cfg
    Here are the configuration possibilities:
    • basicmode : this decides if the plugin should operate like in version 0.2 or before (Just the basics)
    • priceforbasic : this adds a price to the basic showcases
    • priceforfinite : this adds a price to the finite showcases
    • priceforexchange: this adds a price to the exchange showcases
    • removewhenempty: when set to true, a finite showcase will be removed when it's amount hits 0
    • showcaseprotection : turn this to false to be able to remove showcases from other players (griefers) (you should now use WorldGuard instead of this one ;) )
    • locale: standard is en-US. The german translation which is included in the jar-file is de-DE. If you type that in, it will copy the german file from the jar to your plugins folder
      • You can change the translation very easily by editing the existing locale.
      • Colors are supported, just add something like [GREEN] or [DARK_RED] to the text.
      • You can add newlines with \n
    • autosaveinterval: the time between two auto-saves in seconds. Standard is 60 secs. Use -1 to disable autosave.
    Translations

    Currently available translations:
    Changelog

    Version 0.8.1
    See the whole changelog

    Todo
    • Spawn multiple items in the same glass block (up to 4, would be aligned nicely)
    • Verify that there is no free space below the glass block before adding a showcase
    • Maybe let the showcase glow when you placed torches, glowstone or lava in it
    • Custom messages (aka localisation)
    • Sell-Showcases
    • DropChest support (so the items inside the glass won't be absorbed by a Dropchest)
    • Limit the amount of Showcases per player
    • Add a price that the creator of a showcase has to pay (there would be an independent price for each basic, infinite and finite showcases)
    • Linking infinite shops to banks (money spent for items goes there)
    • Rent a showcase for money/day
    • Autosave with configureable interval
    • Commands for save, load and reload
    Crossed items are already done!

    Known bugs
    • This plugin conflicts with some chat-altering plugins (i.e. bColoredChat) this is because the authors don't know how to correctly set up the priority of events.
    • Normal players (the ones that aren't operators) can't use showcases that are in the spawn-protection area. Either disable the spawn protection or place the showcases to an other location (Disable spawnprotection by setting "spawn-protection-size=0" in the server.properties file)
    • With the latest dev preview (not the recommended build), you're able to make slabs to double steps. I've got to investigate until they propose it as RB.
    • ATM, Showcases won't save enchantments. So please just don't try to sell yours because that wouldn't work either.
     
  2. Offline

    deathknight0897

    Hi I have an iConomy server which works based on everybody buying everything and no block can be broken.Is good fun however here is my issue members in the server can purchase houses however I need to manually remove the amount from their bank account however this is an awkward method of doing it as they are also requesting the ability to purchase shops. The reason for this message is the fact that your infite showcases do not give the money to the player could you please please add a config file which will allow me to change this. I would like it so that I can link it so for example it asks you what type Infinite so on then how much and then what player to link it to if left empty it should default to the player that is creating the showcase.
     
  3. Offline

    Nomanoclass

    This showcase is abandoned? (because you have create Showcase 2)
     
  4. Offline

    darkshark6

    You have no idea how long I have been looking for something like this! narrowtux you are awesome!!!
    This works great and its very easy to use/set up.
    This plugin works great for easy to understand shops its no like the sign shops were its formatted like [Buy]
    268 1 $10 or [Buy] WOODEN_SWORD 1 $10! all you do is crouch and right click the type the type and there's your shop (or display!) simple easy and fun thumbs up and 5 [diamond][diamond][diamond][diamond][diamond]
     
  5. Offline

    TheGriefTopic

    Hello NarrowTux!
    I absolutely love this plugin. I have used it many times with SupplySign. It works great on Creative Servers.
    Just an idea I came up with: Have you ever worked with ChestShop? It would be AWESOME to have an Admin Shop with a Showcase. Post a ChestShop sign above a ShowCase, ShowCase takes in the data, then POP! It has the info it needs to buy/sell without a clunky sign that players can't read because of Notch's weird sign shadows. All convienently snapped into the chat bar.
    Well, just an idea anyway. P.M. me if you want to talk about it!
     
  6. Offline

    nickfromgreek

    • Version of Showcase:0.7.9
    • Version of Bukkit:1.0.1
    • If possible, a step-by-step explanation of the bug:when i right click the slab with an item the menu dont opens
    • If possible, console errors:none
    • When you think that this has got to do with another plugin, please list all your plugins like this:
    • i dont sue spout is it required?
     
  7. Offline

    Mishrathium

    [SUGGESTION]
    Permissions for different groups of "priceforfinite=0.0"
    - default = priceforfinite=400.00
    - donator = priceforfinite=100.00

    This would be another beautiful addition to your completely sexy plugin!
     
  8. Offline

    king_nothing_

    Sorry if this has been mentioned previously (I'm not reading through the entire thread), but:

    If you remove a showcase which has more items in it than you can hold in your inventory, are the ones that you didn't have room for just...deleted? Because that seems to be what just happened to me, and I'm a bit annoyed.
     
  9. Offline

    Cepeko

    is it possible to use this plugin with iconomy 6?
     
  10. Offline

    Chubbs7894562

    Help. Im getting error "Cannot create showcase" Why?
    I have all latest versions

    And it says "Cant place any showcases"

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2016
  11. Offline

    Cory_

    We currently use ChestShop and to "Show Case" using this plugin would be ideal, I would be looking for.

    Regards,
    Cory
     
  12. Offline

    --GJ--

    @narrowtux Any closer to having multiple people able to manage a showcase, sell showcases, and enchantment support? Keep up the awesome work!
     
  13. Offline

    CubieX

    An Update for CB 1597 would be nice.

    We encountered a serious bug yesterday. (running CB 1597 & Showcase 0.7.9)
    In the past, showcased "tutorial"-items not always kept their position over the half step from time to time. But it was not a big deal.
    But yesterday we noticed, that the hovering items leave their position completely and then can be picked up by players!
    This happened on a whole bunch of showcases in our trade center.
    We had to remove ALL showcases in our trade center (about 120 I would guess) to prevent players picking those freaking out items up.
    We can't use showcase atm any more, as long as this issue exists.
     
  14. Offline

    narrowtux

    That would require some errors somewhere. I would like you to check your console for error messages.
     
  15. Offline

    --GJ--

    @narrowtux It seems that Showcase is once again duplicating items with LWC magnet chests.
     
  16. Offline

    Marvin77796

    [SUGGESTION]
    Can you add a custum istem Support?
    I use an Modded Server and non Vanilla Items have the Name X<ID>
    Is there a way to give these Items a name like:

    1: Stone
    2: Grass
    ???
     
  17. Offline

    CubieX

    I found something:

    Code:
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE] java.io.FileNotFoundException: /home/minecraft/plugins/Showcase/showcases.csv (Too many open files)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at java.io.FileOutputStream.open(Native Method)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at java.io.FileOutputStream.<init>(FileOutputStream.java:194)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at java.io.FileOutputStream.<init>(FileOutputStream.java:145)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at com.narrowtux.showcase.Showcase.save(Showcase.java:285)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at com.narrowtux.showcase.Showcase$1.run(Showcase.java:198)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.scheduler.CraftScheduler.mainThreadHeartbeat(CraftScheduler.java:137)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.w(MinecraftServer.java:493)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:425)
    2012-01-09 15:43:15 [SEVERE]     at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:457)
    But one of our Mods mentioned this problem a couple of hours earlier than this error messages time.
    This error repeats all couple of minutes on this day.
    But even after some server restarts, they made problems, (no more error messages) so we removed all of them two days later because players started to collect the items...
     
  18. Offline

    Zombiemold

    @narrowtux
    Any chance for an update to support enchantments? Our server is in desperate need of this support, and it's long over due :(

    You would make a lot of people happy! :D
     
  19. Offline

    Vas

    • Version of Showcase
    0.7.9, downloaded 2 days ago.
    • Version of Bukkit
    I believe 1717 is the number.
    • If possible, a step-by-step explanation of the bug
    Not loading permissions.
    • If possible, console errors
    21:35:34 [INFO] [Showcase] Registered type [basic] (0 items loaded)
    21:35:34 [INFO] [Showcase] Registered type [finite] (0 items loaded)
    21:35:34 [INFO] [Showcase] Registered type [infinite] (0 items loaded)
    21:35:34 [INFO] [Showcase] Registered type [exchange] (0 items loaded)
    21:35:34 [INFO] [Showcase] Registered type [tutorial] (0 items loaded)
    21:35:34 [WARNING] Permissions not found! All Operations are allowed!
    21:35:34 [INFO] [Showcase] version 0.7.9 has been enabled.

    I am using permissionsbukkit as my permissions system and I have Vault in now too.
    http://dev.bukkit.org/server-mods/permbukkit/
    http://dev.bukkit.org/server-mods/vault/
    Both also downloaded 2 days ago. Every single thing on my server is up to date.
     
  20. Offline

    THS_SlayR

    Since 1597 showcase don't works properly on our Server. It seems to be loaded correct (no errors) but if you want to create a showcase, the ingame menu looks like attachment.
    Actual we are useing Craftbukkit-Build 1744
     

    Attached Files:

  21. Offline

    rocketman42

    BUG/ISSUE/ERROR!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    I am having major issues with creating a showcase. after finally changing my settings for internet explorer to let me download the plugin, (its not on dev yet, sadly) I tryed to make a showcase, but it just says:

    Showcase creation assistant:
    ---------------------------------------
    ---------------------------------------
    select showcase type:
    ---------------------------------------
    You can't create any showcases!
    ---------------------------------------
    [warning] showcase
    showcase creation cancelled

    I am op so I have permission to make showcases, but it does not let me.

    My versions of bukkit and plugin
    Bukkit: git-bukkit--1.01-R1-79-g241b6f1-b1772jnks (mc: 1.1) (implementing API version 1.1-R1-SNAPSHOT)
    Plugin: 0.79

    I have a TON of plugins, but I doubt any of them cause conflicts

    PLEASE HELP!!!! AND FAST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    thanks
    -Rocketman42

    PS: I hope this was not explained earlier, I ave not read all posts
     
  22. Offline

    josip1

    Is there anyway to sell enchanted things and name potions? Do you think you could make it list what they are?
     
  23. Offline

    caseif

    This is one of the coolest plugins I've seen, but for some reason, the items in showcases tend to duplicate after a while and players are able to pick them up. I'm running the most recent version of Showcase, and CraftBukkit Build 1744, but the problem has been occuring since 1337. Is there a way to fix this? Thanks!

    EDIT: TheGriefTopic already posted something about this, but I haven't found any error messages.
     
  24. Offline

    Cormick99

    Sorry to rush you sort of, but obviously you're not dead and two minecraft updates have passed since this plugin has been updated. So why can't you? I mean, right now I'd wait until the new build for 1.1.0 comes out but still, version 1.0.0 was out for about a month or two. Sorry if I sound like a jerk or something, but I just really want a full, updated version of this plugin for my server.
     
  25. Offline

    turbotas

    Showcase seems like exactly what I need for my bazaar. I steps already built and I have a region defined. With build permission, everything is fine. Without build permission (normal players) players can buy but not sell. is there a fix for this WITHOUT giving players build permission in the bazaar area? Ideally I want them to be able to set up finite shops on existing empty steps but not to be able to mess with other peoples selling.. Apologies if there is already an answer to this question but there are 88 frigging pages of comments! Great plugin BTW! Thanksyou.
     
  26. Offline

    marsthegod1

    Im not sure if anyone has asked this before, i created a shop area near the spawn on my server, but i was wondering is there any way a player can sell their stuff at one of my showcases. just to clarify i mean if i have a cooked chicken showcase, other players can come up and sell their items to me.
    Also this plugin is amazing.
     
  27. Offline

    Minor_Miner

    Can you sell things to a shop with this plugin? If not, this would be a great addition to a great plugin!
     
  28. Offline

    jazzman170

    Ok can somebody please answer this as soon as possible ? I'm having players going to peoples shops and making a showcase with half steps that dont belong to them. I have residence plugin and i made subzones and sold those subzones to players so they can make shops. Then they make their shop and sell stuff via stone slabs. BUT players are into their shop and using their empty stone slabs to create their own shop... Any fix for this??
     
  29. Offline

    worstboy32

    No idea if it is already reported.
    But some times the items don't stay on the slabs.
    they are hopping off and the player can pick them up then and duplicate items.
    They got tons of free items by this bug.
    So i hope you can fix this because it looks really cool.
     
  30. Offline

    feupeu

    Is this plugin getting updated anytime soon? 1337 is a bit outdated :(

    Really love your plugin, and i'd HATE to find an alternative
     
  31. Offline

    Mercury

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page