making interfaceOb

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Pizza371, Dec 12, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Pizza371

So who knows why interfaces are used? I was looking through a plugins source the other day, and they used interfaces quite a bit..
    I was wondering why interfaces are used? All I see is implementing an interface and creating a method that could of been done with exactly the same code..?
    In what way would an interface be productive by implementing it?
    I have no knowledge on interfaces at all, so simple explanations would be greatly appreciated (all I know is that they hold empty methods).
    I have googled around quite a bit, but they all seem to confuse me :p
    Thanks to anyone who answers!

2. Offline

The_Doctor_123

Interfaces are great for when you want to have objects with a combination of properties. Interfaces are an alternative to multiple extensions since you may not extend more than one class in Java, but may implement as many interfaces as you'd like.

But here's what I meant about "a combination of properties":
    So the interface, Player, inherits all these different interfaces. Quite a unique combination, don't you think? A minecart wouldn't implement things like CommandSender or LivingEntity, and it may implement other things to give it other properties a player wouldn't have.

Pizza371 likes this.
  3. Offline

Pizza371

The_Doctor_123 thanks for clearing that up :)!
    I understand it a bit better now, but what I don't understand is what an interface HOLDS, or BRINGS to the class that is implementing it.
    example:
    Code:
    interface intorfoose {
    void emptyMethod();
    }

class bestestclass implements intorfoose {

@Override
    void emptyMethod() {
    }

}
    that part is what I am most confused about (what's the point?).

4. Offline

The_Doctor_123

Pizza371