Kits, associating players and player-kit fields

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by OshaGoro, May 25, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

OshaGoro

Hello, all!

This is my first time using these forums, so I hope this thread is appropriate and that I don't mess up.
    I am attempting to create a game that involves kits that players can select. I've currently got a rather lengthy setup so I will try and condense this to what is necessary.

I have a Kit abstract class, which concrete kits extend, let's say for example, Fighter and Archer. These classes have no information about any players, and as such, they only contain information about the kit itself such as the name, a description of the kit, a list of potential skills or abilities (This seems like an appropriate place to put this, though I'm unsure), etc. The idea is that at the start of each game, only one of each of these kits is instantiated and stored, and they are constantly referenced - for example, when a Kit Selection Menu of some sort is made, it will refer to these Kit objects.

I have two issues and questions regarding this:

1) For associating a player with a kit, I'm unsure whether I should use PlayerMetaData to store this, or whether I should just create a HashMap that maps the player to a reference to this kit.​

2) When a player selects a kit and uses it, there may be fields specific to that player-kit instance. Say for example, an integer shotsCount that exists for each player that uses the Archer kit. Because I am only creating one instance of a kit per game, shotsCount cannot exist in the Archer class, as it will be shared across all players using the Archer kit (in a "global" manner?), as opposed to a per player basis.