Is /reload that bad?

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by WillThGreat, Feb 15, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

WillThGreat

I was just reading a thread about the /reload command with Bukkit. I didn't understand it completely, since I'm new to all this stuff. Apparently, servers that use the command lag more than those who don't. If I restarted my server, would the lag be fixed? I've reloaded tens of times and I'm regretting it now. Do I have to start fresh and reinstall all of my plugins to fix the 'memory leaks?'

Reload Thread: http://forums.bukkit.org/threads/petition-to-remove-the-reload-command.43212/

2. Offline

LiLChris

Do not use /reload unless you have no choice or testing changes.
    It can cause countless issues, not to mention if you have PEX forget it you will probably crash.

I sometimes need it cause I am testing a change in a plugin that doesn't offer a /plugin reload command.
    And rather not restart the server a dozen times.

3. Offline

lokpique

Is /reload that bad?

No. It's worse.

I've actually tested this MANY times... even just randomly typing /reload throughout the day.

I use PEX... never had it crash.

WillThGreat
    For testing, yes you are probably safe to use /reload sparingly, but after you are done... shut down and restart the server or you are begging to have issues.

EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.

Last edited by a moderator: May 31, 2016
    iforgot290 likes this.
  4. Offline

Ne0nx3r0

I used to use PEX on my actual and testing server, saw many server breaks with it because of /reload.

Many plugins notably are simply not written with reload in mind.

It's preferable to use a plugin manager to disable/enable plugins if you really need to. 9 times out of 10 you don't need to reload every plugin anyway, just the ones you are working with/updating.