Intercept Packets

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by Irantwomiles, May 23, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Irantwomiles

I am currently working on a Pracitce PvP plugin that allows multiple fights to happen inside of 1 arena. This becomes complicated because I need to hide splash particles from potions and sounds, along with many other things. Luckily there is a simple class (EntityHider) that the authors of ProtocolLib have written that simplify a lot of the steps, but there is one step that I can't figure out.

I've been trying to hide the splash and sound effects from potions or any entity really using ProtocolLib. I understand that I need to intercept the packet that the server is sending to the player and cancel it. But how exactly do I do this? Should I even be using ProtocolLib? I heard someone say I should use TinyProtocol but there is almost no documentation for that and I'm not very experienced with packet interception/receiving to be digging deep into that. Any insight, examples, or just anything that will help would be greatly appreciated as I've pulled out too many hairs out of my head.

2. Offline

Mahtaran

From the ProtocolLib documentation:
    Code:
    // Disable all sound effects
    protocolManager.addPacketListener(
      new PacketAdapter(this, ListenerPriority.NORMAL,
              PacketType.Play.Server.NAMED_SOUND_EFFECT) {
        @Override
        public void onPacketSending(PacketEvent event) {
            // Item packets (id: 0x29)
            if (event.getPacketType() ==
                    PacketType.Play.Server.NAMED_SOUND_EFFECT) {
                event.setCancelled(true);
            }
        }
    });
    And yes, you should use ProtocolLib for this. You also should look into only cancelling the packets from players that aren't in the same fight, and send packets to the players that are. Just look at the link that is under the ProtocolLib documentation.

3. Offline

Irantwomiles