Thanks for letting me know. Just uploaded a fixed version for bukkit 465 (link in the top post), *it was not tested* so it may not work well. Please let me know how it goes. No support will be provided for this version yet (only after I upgrade my own server, and I'm not doing that before certain other plugins upgrade ) EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
Great plugin, but I'm having trouble figuring out how to do what I want with redstone. I'd like to be able to start a song playing automatically when someone walks into a shop. If I trigger with a pressure plate they have to stay standing on it or the song stops. Making them hit a switch seems silly in this context. Would it be possible to have a pressure plate play one full loop of the song? And have the plate only start the song again if it isn't already playing? Maybe this can be done with a circuit, but I'm clueless.
You could use a latch circuit; if the area has only one entrance, you could put the input further inside the entrance, and the reset to be further out, so it is always reset when they leave, but will play for the duration of their stay.
Needs some circuitry, yes. Look into the redstone area of minepedia and also the craftbook/falsebook plugins which may help keep things simpler.
Would it be possible to configure the blocks to automatically start playing when a player comes within a certain proximity?
Bug? 02:51:38 [SEVERE] Could not pass event CHUNK_LOADED to MidiBanks java.lang.NullPointerException at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.block.CraftSign.getLine(CraftSign.java:24) at net.myshelter.minecraft.MidiBanksWorldListener.onChunkLoaded(MidiBank sWorldListener.java:23) at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$34.execute(JavaPluginLoader.j ava:334) at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.jav a:59) at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.j ava:255) at net.minecraft.server.ChunkProviderServer.d(ChunkProviderServer.java:8 4) at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftWorld.getChunkAt(CraftWorld.java:82) at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.CraftWorld.getBlockAt(CraftWorld.java:56) at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.block.CraftBlock.getRelative(CraftBlock.java:2 11) at org.bukkit.event.block.BlockFromToEvent.getToBlock(BlockFromToEvent.j ava:38) at com.gmail.nossr50.mcBlockListener.onBlockFlow(mcBlockListener.java:19 0) at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$24.execute(JavaPluginLoader.j ava:279) at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.jav a:59) at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.j ava:255) at net.minecraft.server.BlockFlowing.a(BlockFlowing.java:135) at net.minecraft.server.World.h(World.java:1509) at net.minecraft.server.World.g(World.java:1440) at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:348) at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:272) at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:366) Bukkit Build _forget but its most current one
devious: THIS PLUGIN REQUIRES BUILD 552 OR HIGHER. Please don't ask for help until you're running 556. relikofages: The very latest build breaks the latest supported version of MidiBanks but there is an alternative experimental jar in the top post you could try.
Heyho, just found this area of music, seen that there are only 3 kinds of plugins for music, this one sounds nice, so i dl it and tryed some midis out, but somehow it wont work right, its not the same as on playing it on pc. Tryed X as option, O and S, some other strange stuff too. Well mb someone can help me little bit with my midis. So can someone tell me how must i set the options to become it near the version wich is played on the pc(windows media player etc.) Sorry for my bad english, long ago :-D Here is the one which i trying to make work on my server correctly, i uploaded it. Spoiler (Move your mouse to the spoiler area to reveal the content) Show Spoiler Hide Spoiler http://www.speedyshare.com/files/27579557/fightingspirit.mid[/spoiler]
Sry for so long reply but i couldn't get on computer because of school... anyway yep i built all 16 channels and i watched it until the end and it's always using only first 2 note blocks.
Well, how about more details then? What happens with other midis? Do those 2 note blocks play everything or just the first 2 channels of the midi? What does /midi check tell you about the midi and each of its tracks? Did you try splitting by track yet?
pretty cool mod if I didn't lag so bad to the server I own this would work a lot better lol tried hosting on my own comp with it and it sounds great mine only used the first 3. it was a 3 track midi file though. some just use 2, some 8, etc EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
Right, that's not a problem, that's how the midi is. From now on I'm ignoring all the posts that I think are retarded or that were already answered previously in this thread. If you really want to talk to me please show up on IRC.
I'd like to start by saying this is probably the best plugin I've come across, that isn't necessary right up there with dynmap. I've been wanting to implement Midi on my server for a long long time and now that I finally can, I'm ecstatic. However I have a few issues with a few things, perhaps bugs. I'm using CB556 with your appropriate 1.2 release. First thing I notice is that whenever I have L (loop) enabled - irrespective to which kind of file it is, it doesn't sync up anymore. It seems to follow the first channel may or may not have an intro, and the intro plays as the other channels start up at different times, making it very muddy and eventually sounding horribly wrong. (I'm Uploading a video as we speak, before it goes honky, it's sounds impressive, that math you did for the syncopation timing is amazing.) As a fix to that I suggest when the song hits the end, it calls for a stop, reset and start from beginning instead of just repeating the same file again with the same tempo and score. I know some loops are written so they shouldn't have any pauses, but I'd rather have a slight pause then having the syncopation shift every time it loops so by the second or third one it's whack. Second it would be cool if you could add a block at the end that you could put a redstone torch on, and it would turn on for a second once the track was complete, so you can make a playlist kinda thing. This of course would be nice to leave as optional, and only activate that last block of it's attached to the last noteblock in the bus. Thus being able to shorten it with =nnnn command then place a endblock if you need it. This is the loop error in action:
MemoryThief: Thanks for bringing that to my attention, it makes perfect sense that the different TRACKS desync when you loop because each track is a completely isolated SongInstance class and tracks can have different lengths. Each track loops separately resulting in this issue. For now you can edit the midi file and add a final event to each track exactly at the same timestamp to "fix" this issue; I'll fix it in the plugin as soon as possible (right now is a bad time for updating because the bukkit devs are breaking stuff). Love the redstone torch idea too. If it's possible I'll add it and its position will even be configurable in =. Updated to do list.
i got when i play a 1 track (1 noteblock) song with a lot of notes at same time and when i disconnect then: i can't reconnect and get this error: Code: 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] java.lang.IllegalStateException: TickNextTick list out of synch 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.World.a(World.java:1519) 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.World.g(World.java:1439) 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:348) 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:272) 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:366) 2011-03-28 14:01:13 [SEVERE] Unexpected exception java.lang.IllegalStateException: TickNextTick list out of synch at net.minecraft.server.World.a(World.java:1519) at net.minecraft.server.World.g(World.java:1439) at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:348) at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:272) at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:366)
Bukkit/CraftBukkit version? MidiBanks version and variant? Manual start or redstone? Options in control sign? Other plugins you're running?
It sounds nice, but can you make it so that a single noteblock can play mp3's? I have complicated songs with fades and don't want to ruin the quality of things like drums and synthesized notes
midis are not related to mp3s midis are basically files filled with piano key-presses while mp3's contain sound its self so basicly no mp3's can not be played.
yes they can... What I'm asking is for Protected to create a new plugin that plays mp3's from a block of some type or edit this one to be able to play mp3s as well as midi's. It is very do-able with some editing to the code...
Wow, awesome job on this. Just did some initial testing and am intrigued by the possibilities. SO glad there were videos to look at, as my first test was on a glass floor, and I was totally confused for a minute at why it sounded so odd (never used noteblocks before this). Excellent plugin, and definitely going to be a server staple once I get comfy with it. Thanks!
i just found a bug: the /midi check command does not support subdirectories. how to reproduce: run /midi check on an midi then move that midi in a subdirectory and try again it should fail.