How To: Effectively Testing Complex Plugins

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by ryanhamshire, Mar 26, 2012.

?

Do you find this helpful?

1. Yes, thanks!

3 vote(s)
    23.1%
  2. No, you wasted your time with this.

10 vote(s)
    76.9%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

ryanhamshire

If you're working on a big project, I have some experience to share. I'm Ryan Hamshire, developer of GriefPrevention and PopulationDensity. My strategy in plugin development is to solve "Vanilla" problems while minimizing learning for players and maintenance overhead for administrators. To be successful, I have to really understand lots of different play and administrative styles.

One of the most common overarching mistakes independent and/or amateur software developers make is assuming that their customers (or in this case players) think like they do. Bukkit plugin devs can mitigate that factor a little bit by listening to the feedback we get in our BukkitDev, but that feedback is very limited because the audience is small and doesn't generally include players (only administrators).

To get very good information, we need to become administrators ourselves. This not only gets us direct insight into the administrative experience for our plugins, but also gives us a direct channel to real players (those who play on our server). In this post, I'll tell you how you can get a cheap, low maintenance server with enough players to get good feedback on your development project. I'll also share some of what I've learned in my own personal experience, to illustrate how important "real" experience is over guessing about what players and administrators want.