Solved Help With Setting up Premissions

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by FredKing27, Jul 14, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

    FredKing27

    Kk i'll read up I will start at the bukkit wiki honestly I have forgotten what I needed so that I would have to do I guess i'll have to start by reading my past posts. :p I read up on why I needed to setup premissions.yml in the first place It was to use essentials.ban I have to keep track of what I need to do in notepad. :eek:

    Question Do you have to set premissions for every single block in the game? Because I saw it online and if that's so this is WAYYYYYYYYYYY to advanced for me to learn in 1 day i'm gonna have to dedicate a whole week to learn how to setup premissions if I have to do it for every single block. :eek: That's What I looked like when I first saw how to setup the premissions. These Premissions are like trying to mine through a wall of [diamondblock] With a Wooden Pick.

    I've decided to not do the premissions if you need to set them up for every block It would take me too long than it would be worth I really already have everything I need in world guard I mean trying to setup premissions for every block and every node would be like trying to mine through a wall of [diamondblock] With a wooden pick.

    Note if you wanted to see what I looked like when I first looked at the premissions It was something like this :eek:.

    I Think I will setup premissions for the Server when the need arises. I wanted to see if you could quote yourself you can :)

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  2. Offline

    TnT

    No, you do not need to add permissions for every block in the game (unless you have a plugin that forces that level of granularity).
     
  3. Offline

    FredKing27

    Thanks I needed to know that. I Gonna See if I should Set them up or not as I said earlier I think I will set them up when the need arises.
     
  4. Offline

    Omnitv

    Over kill.
     
    np98765 likes this.
  5. Offline

    FredKing27

    Kk I have decided to setup premissions but Before I start out What are the premission nodes for craftbukkit.
     
  6. Offline

    Omnitv

  7. Offline

    FredKing27

  8. Offline

    Omnitv

    Did you look though the link i gave you?
     
  9. Offline

    FredKing27

    Yeah I'm looking right now in a new tab I gonna get back to it I looked at it and it is pretty simple. All I have to remember is not to use the tab key in coding in the premissions.

    I forgot to quote. :p

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  10. Offline

    Omnitv

    4 spaces for permissionsEX. just as a reminder.
    Example:
    PHP:
    groups:
      default:
        
    prefix'[Visitor]'
        
    default: true
        permissions
    :
        - 
    multiverse.access.*
        - 
    permissions.buildfalse
        
    bukkit.command.tell
        
    bukkit.command.me
        
    NoiseNotifications.alert
        
    CommandBin.spawn
        
    CommandBin.starve.self
      Host
    :
        
    options:
          
    rank'100'
        
    prefix'&6[Staff]&c'
        
    suffix'&b[Host]'
        
    permissions:
        - 
    '*'
        
    - .give.item.*
        - 
    adminchat.send
        
    adminchat.read
        
    adminchat.broadcast
        
    mwStop.stop
        
    mwStop.use
        - 
    CommandBin.hat
     
  11. Offline

    FredKing27

    My computer is being slow right now so it is hard to switch between pages to post. :mad:

    Thanks Now I just need to download premissions ex do you have a link handy or should I just go into plugins and find it myself?

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  12. Offline

    Omnitv

    Yeah, That. >.>
     
  13. Offline

    FredKing27

    Computer Still being slow. :mad: That's why I asked for a link.
     
  14. Offline

    Omnitv

  15. Offline

    FredKing27

    What Premissions plugin gives the easiest config?

    Thanks! You made my day. :) Now only if my computer would go faster. :mad:

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  16. Offline

    Omnitv

  17. Offline

    FredKing27

    Thanks! :) I had a cookie and now I'm: :)

    I'm Not going to be running the server from the computer i'm developing it on do you know if I can download it on this computer then transfer it over to another computer.

    Or do they have one that dosn't require MYSQL and .NET

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  18. Offline

    Omnitv

    ? who are you talking to?
     
  19. Offline

    FredKing27

    You.

    Do I have to install all of the plugins in the package or can I just install the premissions plugin. The link that you gave me was for a plugin package.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  20. Offline

    Omnitv

    Install the permissions plugin by dragging the .jar of the plugin to your Plugins folder.
     
  21. Offline

    FredKing27

    I gotta restart my server so i'm going to close all of my tabs so I'll be not responding for 5 mins

    Thanks! now as I said i'm going to be restarting my server so if I have any problems I'll post again.

    First I'm going to make a backup copy of my server just in case I screw it up by missing a space.

    Server Restarted! :) Now time to make that backup copy.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  22. Offline

    Omnitv

    funny how It is not necessary to tell me all THIS information.
    Im getting 5 alerts from this thread alone.
     
  23. Offline

    FredKing27

    Kk I'll just stop posting info that is not needed.

    Should I edit the config.yml or the premissions.yml file.

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 27, 2016
  24. Offline

    Omnitv

     
  25. Offline

    FredKing27

    What am I supposed to do with this code:

    groups:
    default:
    default: true
    permissions:
    - modifyworld.*
     
  26. Offline

    Omnitv

    That is your default group. it is an example.
    When people new to the server they will automatically join the default group, until you or an Admin moves them to something else.
     
  27. Offline

    FredKing27




    How do I make a New Group?
     
  28. Offline

    Omnitv

    By manually adding them to the perms.yml
    Ie:
    PHP:
      Host:
        
    options:
          
    rank'100'
        
    prefix'&6[Staff]&c'
        
    suffix'&b[Host]'
        
    permissions:
        - 
    '*'
        
    - .give.item.*
        - 
    adminchat.send
        
    adminchat.read
        
    adminchat.broadcast
        
    mwStop.stop
        
    mwStop.use
        - 
    CommandBin.hat
    You can use this as a ref: http://pastie.org/private/glfxr2skohtrgl0vscya
     
  29. Offline

    FredKing27

    I don't understand should I copy and paste this underneath the default group to create a new group.

    groups:
    default:
    default: true
    permissions:
    - modifyworld.*
     
  30. Offline

    Omnitv

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page