Help with Player Chat (Please)

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by nateracecar5, Jan 24, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

nateracecar5

Okay, so I have some code, but I won't show it because it is a secret project that I think you guys will like.

So I have a command that is used like "/pcgui <player name>". The command opens an inventory, but I have it so that the plugin stores the player name for control later (It's kind of an in-game control panel). I have a button in the inventory that says "Message the player", and when I click it, it sends the player a message saying "Please type your message into chat". I have two questions on this:

1.) Will the inventory automatically close when I click the button, because I don't know how to close it if it doesn't.
    2.) How do I make it record AND cancel the player chat event right here, at this EXACT point?

I really need help on this subject. I'm kind of new to this inventory manipulation thing.

2. nateracecar5
    1. player.closeInventory()

2. You can do something like this (not tested, but should work):

Code:java
    1. HashMap<Player, Player> msgMap = new HashMap<Player, Player>();
    2. //make sure to add players to map when the inventory is clicked
    3. @EventHandler
    4. public void onChat(AsyncPlayerChatEvent e){
    5. Player sender = e.getPlayer();
    6. Player receiver = msgMap.get(sender);
    8. if (msgMap.containsKey(sender)){
    9. e.setCancelled(true);
    10. receiver.sendMessage(e.getMessage());
    11. msgMap.remove(sender);
    12. }
    13. }

Hope this helps :)

3. Offline

nateracecar5

Thanks. I am about to export the plugin, so when everything checks, I will implement this. :)

The Gaming Grunts One thing: How do I add them to the message map? msgMap.add(player);? I've never used hashmaps before, kind of a noob XD

EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.

Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2016