Plugin Help hasPLayedBefore() [SOLVED]

Discussion in 'Plugin Help/Development/Requests' started by liltattertot97, Dec 12, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

liltattertot97

So i'm making a plugin that puts a protection on people when they first join. They have to type a command to remove this protection. My problem is when the players leave the game and rejoin they get the protection put back on them. I made two lists of UUID's to keep track of who removed the protection and who hasn't. I have some knowledge of Java. I took a class at my highschool that teaches java basics. Any help is appreciated

Could it maybe be because im not saving the arraylists or something ?

Code: http://pastie.org/9777588

2. Offline

teej107

@liltattertot97 Here are some tips to reduce lines of code (and might fix your problem)
    • Unless you need to use the get() method for List, use a Set. Set doesn't allow duplicates so there is no need to check to see if the collection contains an object.
    • Instead of creating two Collections, just assume that every player that is not in the collection has the protection turned off. This will eliminate the need for 2 collections.

3. Offline

liltattertot97

@teej107 Sorry if this is noobish but what do you mean by use a set and not get()?

4. Offline

HeadGam3z

5. Offline

liltattertot97

ohh ok i think i undertand.. He's saying i should change my lists to a set. ok ok ill try that.

But will that solve the problem of saving the players to the set when they log off?

6. Offline

teej107

@liltattertot97 Let me re-explain. You are using a List. If you are not using the List#get() method, use a Set instead. Set does not allow duplicates. Using a Set will eliminate your need to call the Collection#contains() method before adding an object to the Collection.

Try the below and see if it solves your problem

7. Offline

liltattertot97

@teej107