Solved Grabbing methods from other classes? Help!

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by xYourFreindx, Jun 8, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. So, I'm trying to announce to admins that there is a new update, when they join.

The only way I've found to do this is to make my update class implement Listener and registerit in my onEnable.
    I'd rather not make a class just for one event and be able to use the onPlayerJoin in my main listener class.
    I'm not sure, however, how to grab the methods from the Updater class while in my Listener class.

Yes, I'm new to java. And this seems like something very simple and basic that I'm not getting, and I'd REALLY like to know how. So...
    Any help you can give me would be greatly appreciated. ​

2. Offline

Gater12

xYourFreindx
    Make your updater object > invoke methods.

3. Gater12
    :(
    I hate to ask.....
    But is there any further explanation you can give me?
    Like... How I am to do this, and why?
    I know why, like.... To make use of my updater... But obviously that reason will change throughout the programs I make, and I cannot hope to be able to use it if I do not yet understand it.

4. Offline

AoH_Ruthless

Learn Java. That's the best advice we could ever hope to give you.

5. Offline

Gater12

xYourFreindx [Not going to in depth about Objects, classes, and methods. You should have already understand that]

Alrighty, Updater is a class. It has methods. When you make a new Updater object, it creates it, and you get access to these methods.

Code:java
    1. Updater updater = new Updater(params);
    3. updater.getResult();
    5. /* etc. */

6. Gater12 I was instructed by the updater tutorial to put that in my onEnable, would it be bad practice to use in in my onEnable and to also make an instance of the class at the top of my main?

7. Offline

AoH_Ruthless

xYourFreindx