Goodbye, Bukkit

Discussion in 'Staff Goodbyes' started by chaseoes, Sep 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

chaseoes

Goodbye, Bukkit

When I first joined the Minecraft community three years ago, I never thought I would end up in the position I am now. I started playing Minecraft around December 2010, and ventured into running my own server shortly after. The only reason I initially joined the Bukkit Forums was because back in those times, we didn't have BukkitDev -- I only registered so I could view attachments (screenshots) of plugins.

In January 2013, to my surprise, I was brought onto the BukkitDev staff team. I was part of a large group brought on, as the staff team expanded from around 15 people to 28. I am still extremely thankful for the opportunity -- it has changed my life.

Most people underestimated the amount of work that was put into BukkitDev, but we were all extremely thankful when people thanked us for the work we did, either in private or in the feedback forums. Many staff would dedicate a part of their day, ranging from one to five hours, every single day, to reviewing projects and files. Yes, we read every single line of code submitted, and yes, plugins like WorldEdit would require bathroom breaks. Unfortunately, most of the work done on BukkitDev is done behind the scenes -- people usually only noticed us when things weren't going well.