Good startup script for my CraftBukkit server?

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by MaliciousMan, Jun 26, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

MaliciousMan

Hey!

So listen, I've seen some startup scripts for optimizing speed/performance for Bukkit on different threads, and I just have a feeling my server isn't running very well. player get the "End of Stream" and "lost connection" and "timed out" and stuff alot.

I have little knowledge about java's code. I know it sucks by the way it eats its fill of power, but that's beside the point.

Here's my script I use in a batch file:
    Code:
    java -Xmx1536M -Xms1536M -jar craftbukkit-1.5.2-R1.0.jar -o true
    PAUSE
    [mod edit: fixed a dangerous value]

My server specifications are: 32-bit Windows XP SP2, 5GB RAM, 3.5GB usable by Windows, 1.5GB utilized by Bukkit, 1GB actually used by Bukkit xD.

Dual core [Intel] 2.8 GHz processor.
    Running on an average ping of 75ms, an average upload speed of 0.80MBps and and average download speed of 0.40MBps according to speedtest.net.

I have 27 plugins currently. And a current TPS of 20.

IP: seclusive.no-ip.biz

I put a shortcut in the "STARTUP" folder so the server opens by itself. Also, the computer logs itself in.

2. Offline

rguz10

Ok... Your using a desktop Os. Have a terrible processor. AND a terrible Internet connection. There's your problem...

3. Offline

MaliciousMan

So you recommend a linux/ubuntu OS? How much would that improve it by? And what's wrong with the processor? Internet, I can understand... xD

4. Offline

Kolugo

In my experience, Windows should be alright for running a server; but all hope is lost in running a server with horrible internet connection.

MaliciousMan likes this.
  5. Offline

MaliciousMan

Kolugo Thanks for the advice, on a scale of 1-10, how bad is my speed?

6. Offline

Kolugo

7. Offline

pointfit

MaliciousMan
    There's no way you can host a server with that internet speed

8. Offline