Solved Getting 5 nearest entities?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by marshmallowz, Jun 4, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

marshmallowz

I know there is the getNearbyEntities method but I don't want all the nearest entities I just want to select 5 random ones. Anyone know how to go about doing this? All help is appreciated :)

2. Offline

Gater12

marshmallowz
    getNearbyEntities returns list of entity. Just choose five values at random indexes.

3. Offline

marshmallowz

Gater12
    I can't wrap my head around how to do this, if it won't be much trouble can you show me an example?

4. Offline

NathanWolf

5. Offline

marshmallowz

NathanWolf
    I've never used that method before, can you help me?

6. Offline

thecrystalflame

Code:java
    2. List<Entity> ents = new ArrayList<Entity>();
    3. for (int i = 0; i < 5; i++) {
    4. Entity nearest = null;
    5. for (Entity ent : player.getNearbyEntities()) {
    6. if (nearest != null) {
    7. if (ent.getLocation().distance(player.getLocation() < nearest.getLocation().distance(player.getLocation)) {
    8. nearest = ent;
    9. }
    10. } else {
    11. nearest = ent;
    12. }
    13. }
    14. ents.add(nearest);
    15. }

7. Offline

marshmallowz

thecrystalflame
    The getNearbyEntities takes 3 parameters of the x,y,z for the range

8. Offline

NathanWolf

I pretty much spelled it out there.... I don't like to spoonfeed, but I guess here:

Code:
    Collection<Entity> nearby = player.getNearbyEntities(16, 16, 16);
    Collections.shuffle(nearby);

Entity randomEntity1 = nearby.get(0);
    Entity randomEntity2 = nearby.get(1);
    Entity randomEntity3 = nearby.get(2);
    Entity randomEntity4 = nearby.get(3);
    Entity randomEntity5 = nearby.get(4);

9. Offline

garbagemule

thecrystalflame