Get Entities In Your Eye Location

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by mkezar, Jan 21, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

mkezar

Hi. I am trying to make an hp plug in that any player you look at, you get their hp in a scoreboard. I am capable of doing the other things but im new to trying to get entities in your eye location. So my question is, how do you get the list of entities in your cross hair / eye location? Please help! Thank you! :)

2. Offline

pie_flavor

@mkezar Not sure if you knew this, but you can make the HP of players shown below their name using code. If you don't mind the format being Health: <1-20>, you can even do it in vanilla with /scoreboard objectives setdisplay belowName. You can probably put custom text below their names with packet and whatnot.
    As to your actual question, I'm pretty sure you're going to have to manually calculate the position of every player and decide if any player is actually looking at any other player based on the center of their screen.

3. Offline

mkezar

I knew that but it would be a lot cooler if you could look at a player from such a far distance and get their health.

4. Offline

pie_flavor

@mkezar You can also put their health (not the title "Health", just the value) in the tab-list using the vanilla tabList display slot.

5. Offline

mkezar

I know this @pie_flavor but it would be awesome and a bit more impressive to have it so whenever you look at a player (maybe if the player is 50-100 blocks away) and you get their health

6. Offline

1Rogue

-edit- wouldn't work.

7. Offline

mkezar

Why? Is it client side?

8. Offline

1Rogue

No I thought I had a solution at first and then realized it wouldn't. Also I'm a bit busy myself so I really should be avoiding posting on here right now.

9. Offline

sirrus86

I use these methods to get a target entity. I can't say it's the most efficient, but so far it works:
    Code:
    @SuppressWarnings("unchecked")