[FUN/MECH] ThunderTower - Make Towers to Catch Lightning [1.5.1]

Discussion in 'Archived: Plugin Releases' started by rominos2, May 1, 2011.

  1. Offline

    rominos2

    ThunderTower - Catch Lightning Strikes
    Version : 1.3.8 (Conductivity Edition)

    This plugin is now on BukkitDev


    Old Post


    Construct Tower in a specific Material to catch the Lightning Strikes
    Can also be used with my plugin Battery to store energy

    Features :
    • Construct, increase, reduce, destroy Thunder Towers (With Permissions)
    • Catch a certain percentage of the Lightning Strikes from a certain distance (that you put in configuration file)
    • On Strike, active a redstone wire just under the tower for a configurable time
    • On Strike, damage player (configurable) in a radius (configurable)
    • To avoid damages you've have to cover the tower with NonConductiveMaterial blocks (configurable)
    • Added to Minecraft UpToDate
    Commands :

    • /tthelp : See the information to build a correct tower, such as heights, material, ...
    Permission :

    • Create a Tower or access to /tthelp : thundertower.create
    • Destroy a Tower : thundertower.destroy
    Download Links :
    ThunderTower v1.3
    Other Versions (open)

    Screenshots :
    Screenshots (open)

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]

    TODO :
    • Any Ideas ?
    Known Issues :
    • No more ^^
    Changelog :

    Version v1.3 (Conductivity Edition) (04-09-2011)
    • Config file in now a YAML file
    • Add configs for making damage to players in a radius of the tower on strike
    • Add NonConductiveMatrial list to make a tower safe from damaging players
    Changelog (open)

    Version 1.2.3 (02-09-2011)
    • Add in-build permission system support
    • Fix for the last time the OutOfBoundsError
    Version 1.2.2(21-07-2011)
    • No more OutOfBounds Errors, I assure you
    Version 1.2.1(02-06-2011)
    • No true changes, just compiled for 818
    Version 1.2(12-05-2011)
    • MultiWorld Support
    • Redstone support
    • Functions with others weather plugin (tested with WeatherGod)
    Version 1.1(03-05-2011)
    • Catch Percentage
    • Minimum Altitude
    • Configurable Colors of messages
    • /tthelp command
    Version 1.0(01-05-2011)
    • Just the release of this awesome plugin !


     
  2. Offline

    TheTennessee

    I am having a slight issue with thunder tower. I figure it might be that it needs an update since when I updated battery to 953 it worked. I am using server version 953, but in one of my worlds, I am getting an error anytime someone breaks or places a block.


    Code:
    2011-07-14 20:19:34 [SEVERE] Could not pass event BLOCK_BREAK to ThunderTower
    java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: -1
        at java.util.ArrayList.get(Unknown Source)
        at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTower.getProperties(ThunderTower.java:127)
        at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTowerBlockListener.onBlockBreak(ThunderTowerBlockListener.java:66)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$35.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:483)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:58)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:321)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.c(ItemInWorldManager.java:157)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.a(ItemInWorldManager.java:121)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:460)
        at net.minecraft.server.Packet14BlockDig.a(SourceFile:42)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetworkManager.b(NetworkManager.java:226)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:84)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetworkListenThread.a(SourceFile:105)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:451)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:361)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:422)
    2011-07-14 20:20:02 [SEVERE] Could not pass event BLOCK_PLACE to ThunderTower
    java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException: -1
        at java.util.ArrayList.get(Unknown Source)
        at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTower.getProperties(ThunderTower.java:127)
        at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTowerBlockListener.onBlockPlace(ThunderTowerBlockListener.java:20)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$27.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:427)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:58)
        at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:321)
        at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.event.CraftEventFactory.callBlockPlaceEvent(CraftEventFactory.java:90)
        at org.bukkit.craftbukkit.event.CraftEventFactory.callBlockPlaceEvent(CraftEventFactory.java:74)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemBlock.a(ItemBlock.java:81)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemStack.placeItem(ItemStack.java:56)
        at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.interact(ItemInWorldManager.java:223)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:552)
        at net.minecraft.server.Packet15Place.a(SourceFile:57)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetworkManager.b(NetworkManager.java:226)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:84)
        at net.minecraft.server.NetworkListenThread.a(SourceFile:105)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:451)
        at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:361)
        at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:422)
    I noticed that for this specific world, the file for its properties wasn't getting loaded. As shown here:

    Code:
    2011-07-14 20:16:06 [INFO] [ThunderTower] Loaded 1 Towers for Multiplayer_World, active : true
    2011-07-14 20:16:06 [INFO] [ThunderTower] Loaded 0 Towers for Multiplayer_World_nether, active : true
    2011-07-14 20:16:06 [INFO] [ThunderTower] Loaded 0 Towers for dungeon, active : true
    2011-07-14 20:16:06 [INFO] [ThunderTower] Loaded 0 Towers for sphere, active : true
    2011-07-14 20:16:06 [INFO] [ThunderTower] Plugin ThunderTower, by Rominos2, version 1.2.1, is enabled.
    The world's name is Sunburn_Island, and the properties file is named Sunburn_Island.properties. It isn't getting loaded it seems, because the error ONLY occurs in that one world, none of the others.

    Anyways, I figure I just have to wait for an update. Honestly, it doesn't cause any crashes or anything, it just floods the console with error is all.
     
  3. Offline

    rominos2

    @TheTennessee
    Yes I know this error
    I corrected that for my Seasons plugin because I coded this part the same
    I'll might apply a fix sunday
     
    bellardie likes this.
  4. Offline

    rominos2

    --- Release of the Version 1.2.2 ---
    You'd better say them goodbye
    You'll never see again these OutbOfBounds Errors
     
    bellardie likes this.
  5. Offline

    TheTennessee

    Woot, good job man. I honestly love this plugin. I've used it for all sorts of things. Glad to see it is back up and running.
     
  6. Offline

    rominos2

    Thanks Man
    I worked for rewards like that
    To see people liking ^^
     
    bellardie likes this.
  7. Offline

    TheTennessee

    Well, I have a few of your mods, the battery as well. Doing more with redstone tickles me. I fall for plugins like that all the time.
     
  8. Offline

    rominos2

    @TheTennessee
    I've always problem coding with redstone but yes
    This part of minecraft is just awesome
    For example, this week I made a Special SwithPoint for Minecarts and I used 3 logic gates
    God bless the Wireless Redstone plugin ^^
     
    bellardie likes this.
  9. Offline

    TheTennessee

    I must agree with you there. I have a cobblestone generator that comes from three sides, but is only active while you stand on a pressure plate in the middle. Without wireless redstone, I would have had to somehow get that signal in the middle to go in three directions.
     
  10. Offline

    MC-Luke

    Really nice done! I have got one in my PVP server now, when the tower is activated, it activateds pistons wich push glowstone, really nice plug in man I love it ! =]
     
  11. Offline

    rominos2

    @MC-Luke
    Thanks man I apreciate posts like that ^^
    You can also send some screens I'll be honored to create a "Creations" part on my plugin's post
     
    bellardie likes this.
  12. Offline

    Xordaii

    Could you, or have you already, update this to us PermissionsBukkit? I love this plugin and Battery!
     
  13. Offline

    rominos2

    @Xordaii
    Yes I'll look into that on the ending of my vacation
     
    bellardie likes this.
  14. Offline

    NekoSteamBoy

    What about sending the redstone to the very last iron block? I made a big tower and would put the iron blocks completly through to get to the redstone power (Dont want batteries on top of my building more like on the ground T_T)
     
  15. Offline

    Xordaii

    Thanks, rominos2!
     
  16. Offline

    rominos2

    @NekoSteamBoy
    I don't understand
    Redstone is actually sent to the bottom of the tower
     
    bellardie likes this.
  17. Offline

    Clucky

    This error message occasionally spams up my console, how do I fix it?

    Code:
    14:40:32 [SEVERE] Could not pass event BLOCK_BREAK to ThunderTower
    java.lang.ArrayIndexOutOfBoundsException
    
     
  18. Offline

    TheInternalFilms I steal plugins as my own

    Hi erm .... How do you make the tower. I made it ten high using iron its above sea level but it does not get power while it get struck! Help please!
     
  19. Offline

    rominos2

    @Clucky
    Is there all the error log ?

    @TheInternalFilms
    The power is set under the Tower
    Just put a redstone wire under the last block of your tower
     
    bellardie likes this.
  20. Offline

    Clucky

    Well basically it repeats that message several hundred times...
     
  21. Offline

    rominos2

    @Clucky
    So the error is only 2 lines repeating ?
    Any line in a .java file ?
     
    bellardie likes this.
  22. Offline

    Clucky

    Truely Idk, about every 3 seconds it prints this message into the console. However it doesn't always do it, sometimes its only after I /reload the server, other times it just randomly starts up. This plugin is compatible with Multiverse, right? Because I noticed it happens most of the time when someone places a block in another world (other than the main world).
     
  23. Offline

    Shalobee

    I just had it happen to me too here is the output:
    Code:
    15:46:15 [SEVERE] Could not pass event BLOCK_BREAK to ThunderTower
    java.lang.IndexOutOfBoundsException: Index: 1, Size: 1
            at java.util.ArrayList.RangeCheck(ArrayList.java:547)
            at java.util.ArrayList.get(ArrayList.java:322)
            at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTower.loadWorld(ThunderTower.java:151)
            at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTower.getProperties(ThunderTower.java:126)
            at org.rominos2.ThunderTower.ThunderTowerBlockListener.onBlockBreak(ThunderTowerBlockListener.java:65)
            at org.bukkit.plugin.java.JavaPluginLoader$37.execute(JavaPluginLoader.java:497)
            at org.bukkit.plugin.RegisteredListener.callEvent(RegisteredListener.java:58)
            at org.bukkit.plugin.SimplePluginManager.callEvent(SimplePluginManager.java:338)
            at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.c(ItemInWorldManager.java:157)
            at net.minecraft.server.ItemInWorldManager.a(ItemInWorldManager.java:121)
            at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:481)
            at net.minecraft.server.Packet14BlockDig.a(SourceFile:42)
            at net.minecraft.server.NetworkManager.b(NetworkManager.java:226)
            at net.minecraft.server.NetServerHandler.a(NetServerHandler.java:89)
            at net.minecraft.server.NetworkListenThread.a(SourceFile:105)
            at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.h(MinecraftServer.java:454)
            at net.minecraft.server.MinecraftServer.run(MinecraftServer.java:363)
            at net.minecraft.server.ThreadServerApplication.run(SourceFile:422)
    
     
  24. Offline

    rominos2

    @Shalobee
    Yes that's an error log that I like with an error line number
    I'll work on it
     
    bellardie likes this.
  25. Offline

    Shalobee

    any luck on this?
     
  26. Offline

    rominos2

    @Shalobee

    Oh I have forgotten this error (with all this BukkitDev things)
    It's corrected
    I'll release a fix soon

    --- Release of the Version 1.2.3 ---

    With PermissionsBukkit support and a fix

    Have fun !

    EDIT by Moderator: merged posts, please use the edit button instead of double posting.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: May 14, 2016
    bellardie likes this.
  27. Offline

    Gingerboy250

    Look at my signature sam
     
  28. Offline

    AgentSnazz

    I'd like to bump a suggestion that came a few pages back.

    Apply Lightning effects to blocks/mobs/players within a configurable (probably 3-5) block radius around the bottom block. This includes fire, player and mob damage, and creeper/pig transformations.

    Even better, same as above, but also for a smaller radius around the whole tower. For example, if you ran the thundertower from the top of a tower to the basement, and you stood next to it on a middle floor, you would take damage (maybe less than full? configurable?) from a strike.

    Even betterer, same as above, but these effects can be negated by 'insulating' the tower with non-conductive blocks. In the config you could allow a number of block types to be considered 'conductive'. default would be iron, gold, etc. Towers could only be made of conductive blocks. If a block in the tower has a non-conductive block, wool for example, on 4 sides, then it does not cause damage/effects.

    This looks like an awesome plugin, one that I could foresee some variation of possibly ending up in the final game. It just makes intuitive sense. Notch's lightning 'decision-making' code is just random, and doesn't seem to follow any natural order. This plugin helps fix that, thanks!
     
  29. Offline

    rominos2

    @AgentSnazz
    The damage close to the Tower seems interesting
    I add this to the Todo List

    The non-conductive things looks really difficult to code
    I add it too but I can not promise it will be done
     
    bellardie likes this.
  30. Offline

    rominos2

    In fact it wasn't so difficult
    So after a hard night of code

    --- Release of the version 1.3 ----

    What you asked is in there
    the damage, the nonconductivity to make a tower safe (Look in the screenshots for a safe tower)
    And a new format for config gile : YAML

    have fun ! and good night ^^
     
    bellardie likes this.
  31. Offline

    AgentSnazz

    @raminos2

    Wow, awesome!
     

Share This Page