Question Essentials (& Group Manager) Chat-Prefix-Color Issues

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by Dewm, Dec 22, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

Dewm

*Please keep in mind I am not very experienced with any of this*

I want to create an SMP for a group of mine, and I would love to have a few things:

*Colored-chat (not a suffix, like actually typing &5 randomly in chat and having it translate to purple, just like you can do in /broadcast)
    *Colored signs
    *Colored prefixes
    *Colored Suffixes

However, I cannot get any of these to work. I have tried installing Vault since I heard it was for chat colors and whatnot, but it didn't do anything. Then I realized that I didn't have Essentials Chat when I thought I did, and of course I couldn't find it on any bukkit sites... then I found it in the Essentials folder and installed it to my server (I use Beastnode by the way and go through the browser, I haven't downloaded any software like I see some people do) but it still didn't help.

Almost everything I see is completely outdated. For example I saw in a few places people told me in Essentials Config I was supposed to find:

Code:
    chat:

# If EssentialsChat is installed, this will define how far a player's voice travels, in blocks. Set to 0 to make all chat global.
    # Note that users with the "essentials.chat.spy" permission will hear everything, regardless of this setting.
    # Users with essentials.chat.shout can override this by prefixing text with an exclamation mark (!)
    # Or with essentials.chat.question can override this by prefixing text with a question mark (?)
    # You can add command costs for shout/question by adding chat-shout and chat-question to the command costs section."
    radius: 0

# Chat formatting can be done in two ways, you can either define a standard format for all chat
    # Or you can give a group specific chat format, to give some extra variation.