Solved Error Creating Instance of A Class

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by JungleSociety, Jul 1, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

JungleSociety

Hello, I am receiving an error on one of my projects when the server starts up. If anyone was wondering I am using @xTrollxDudex's minigame tutorial, however I believe it has to do with something I'm doing wrong with the plugin itself not the minigame outline. So anyways I get a startup log, that will be below, and I see errors on lines that appear to be getting the instance of the ArenaManager class. I'm fairly new to java, but from what I've read, I think that I'm creating the instance of the class at least somewhat correct. So here is the code and the error, Thanks:

TNTWars class: http://pastebin.com/0dBu8L2A

ArenaManager class: http://pastebin.com/7zfdSXHP

Error: http://pastebin.com/ruGfgaS3

Sorry I had to use pastebin because the post wouldn't allow over 30,000 characters.

Please let me know if you need anything else to help me solve this, like other classes or full logs or anything. I'm assuming there is a very simple answer to this, that my knowledge is not bringing up right now. Thanks.

2. Offline

AoH_Ruthless

JungleSociety
    I'm not going to spoonfeed you the solution, frankly because you won't learn and because I don't want to read up to 30,000 characters ..

You need to learn to read stacktraces. The stacktrace clearly points to line 39 of TNTWars class. This is improper initialization because you are initializing the instance outside of any method. This is declared even before your onEnable(). How can you enable an ArenaManager class that relies on the main class before the main class is even enabled? It would be like trying to stand up without legs (dark, but first thing I could think of). It just does not make sense.