Displaying 3d plans from schematic files with water blocks

Discussion in 'Archived: Plugin Requests' started by RustyDagger, Sep 25, 2011.

1. Offline

RustyDagger

so what minecraft has needed for a long long time in my opinion is a way to share and view plans. sharing is easy we mostly use schematic files.

My idea is for a schematic viewing system ingame. how can this work you ask well i have been sitting and developing this idea for a few months and even tried to code it at one point (but im a java noob.)

how it works.

Command in game loads a schematic file with a file name.
    user then uses another command like /view <num> the number is for a slice of the plan starting at the lowest and working to the highest point of the file. the plugin displays the pattern using water blocks that have been stopped from flowing. the reason for this is because then the user can come along with real blocks and place them where the water is. and make the building. only needs water where there is air forgot to mention that bit...

other commands like /slice <num> could be used
    maybe /finished or /view its really up to the plugin dev prob all sub commands of /sv.

worries. i am not sure how server intensive stopping a few 100 blocks of water from flowing in every direction could be. also need to take into account the user placing blocks near the water would cause a block update and make it want to flow again.

this plugin would replace the hours of work of switching windows and building that no1 really likes and make it into an easy fun task.

2. Offline

Pinkishu

Hmm only part I didn't get was "only needs water where there is air"?
    As In in the game world if there is another block where water would be placed, it won't be placed?

3. Offline

RustyDagger

yes other wise the player could not build the plan because the plan would replace what he had built with water.