Damage advice!

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by mrgreen33gamer, Jan 2, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

mrgreen33gamer

Alright guys, I need some advice!

So, I am a KitPvP coder, nearly ALL of my code realize on me to use a Damage event. What I have noticed in the passed 2 months is that if a player is attacked by another player, if the player being damaged waits about 5 seconds without typing /kill, the other player doesn't get the kill. Don't understand? Let me explain:

If someone was to be damaged by a player and typed /kill within a type period of 2 seconds of the attack, it counts as a kill, even without a custom code. Now, if that player waited about 7+ seconds, and they type: /kill. Then it doesn't count as a kill. So what am I trying to get to?

Well, I want to manipulate the amount of time a player has till they can die WITHOUT it counting as a kill.

Anyone got an idea how I can manipulate this? Or how to extend the time?

~mrgreen33gamer

2. Offline

Gamesareme

@mrgreen33gamer Well, when a player gets damaged add them to a map, with the player that damaged them. Then have a count down that goes for how long you want, then remove the player from the map. Then have a check, when a player dies and see if they are in the map. If they are give the kill to the player that hurt the other, also saved in the map. If the player hurt is not in the map, then they were not killed by any one.

3. Offline

mrgreen33gamer

@Gamesareme That's a good idea, but a problem with this is, if I do that and add a countdown to removed them, every single time I hit them they're added to the map and the a message might spam!

4. Offline

Konato_K

@mrgreen33gamer You don't need a countdown, you can store a long with the time they were hit, when they are hit again just put the new time in the map, if they die then get the long and compare the time difference

5. Offline

nj2miami