Calling methods! I'm a noob!

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by ZaneBaney, May 7, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

ZaneBaney

I need help calling a join team method from my other class "teams" into my main class "main"
    I have no Idea how to do this, I have tried making an object (I think) in main and calling it from that but I'm really new and don't understand method calling all that well.

Main Class:
    http://pastebin.com/H1HKMGyk
    Teams class:
    http://pastebin.com/5MDmb9Xx

Please, any help is appreciated :)

2. Offline

MinecraftMart

ZaneBaney
    I am new to this so i dont know if i am entirely good or wrong

But put this above onEnable()

Code:java
    1. teams ts;

and then when the command has been called
    1. ts.JoinTeamBlue();

I hope this helps.

3. ZaneBaney
    I would recommend you to create a static method inside the "teams" class that returns an instance of it.
    Code:
    static teams instance;

public static teams getInstance() {
        if(instance == null)
            instance = new teams();

return instance;
    }
    Now in your main class, you can call methods inside the teams class by grabbing the instance with teams.getInstance().
    Code:
    teams teamsClass = teams.getInstance();
    teams.someMethod(); // replace with the method you want to call
    Also, class names should start with a capitalized letter.

4. Offline

ZaneBaney

MinecraftMart Assist Thank you both for the help, testing now.
    (Will make my classes with capitalized letters in the future ;) )

teej107 likes this.
  5. Offline

teej107

Try and avoid using static if possible. It can lead to very lazy and bad coding. Try this instead:
    1. public class main extends JavaPlugin {
    3. public Permission playerPermission = new Permission("can.startarena");
    4. private teams teams;
    6. @Override
    7. public void onEnable() {
    8. new play(this); //I don't know where this comes from