BukkitDev Staff Resignation

Discussion in 'Staff Goodbyes' started by mncat77, Sep 6, 2014.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. TL;DR I (some no-name DBO Staff) am resigning from my position as BukkitDev Staff, because I no longer approve of Mojang’s actions.

Hey everyone,

I started playing Minecraft about 3 years ago (around Beta 1.7) and was so engaged by the game that I devoted almost all of my free time to playing singleplayer. After a while I got a little bit bored of that and discovered multiplayer and found myself a small server to play on. I had a lot of fun and didn’t stop pouring my time into the game, but as the server grew bigger and after a failed attempt to revamp it, the server was shut down (about less than 2 years ago).

That is when I joined Bukkit. At first I only played around with a CraftBukkit server and some plugins, but as I already had some coding experience I decided to learn Java and try making some Bukkit plugins of my own. After I had become pretty knowledgeable about Java and the Bukkit API, I decided to participate in ten.java 2013 and ended up ranking third. As a result of that (at least I suppose so) lol768 suggested that I should apply for a position as BukkitDev Staff and so I did and was accepted in late January of this year.

Even though I haven't been BukkitDev Staff for that long of a time, I felt that the period of a little over half of a year during which I was BukkitDev staff has been great. I was able to get to know awesome people, learn a lot and help the Bukkit project.