Solved Beginner help thread: Extreme facepalm edition

Discussion in 'Bukkit Help' started by JadElClemens, Apr 2, 2012.

?

How facepalm-y was this?

Poll closed Apr 4, 2012.
  1. Very

33.3%
  2. I already don't like you.

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  3. Never post here again.

66.7%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Offline

JadElClemens

I'm new to bukkit. I just ran the .bat and yay, my server starts! I'm just wondering if now that Bukkit has created all its nice files in my server folder, if I can go back to using the regular server client. I understand that they're equally functional, but I compiled my server .bat into an exe for the occasion, so on and so forth. If I don't continue to use the bukkit client, will all of my bukkit plugins and such stop working?

Thanks, those of you most likely facepalming right now.
    -Jad

2. Offline

grant1222

If you mean original client by using the Minecraft multiplayer server client, then I'm almost positive no. Plugins ONLY work with a corresponding client .jar file, so I'm pretty sure it would be impossible to run the craftbukkit.jar with a minecraft server client, as it also has a .jar file of it's own. Just stick to the .bat file, and make life a lot easier.

3. Offline

JadElClemens

The thing is, being able to run the original Minecraft server.exe would make life a lot easier on /me/. Otherwise, why would I be posting this?

EDIT: Nevermind, got the bukkit server optimized for me as the vanilla one was. Case closed.

4. Offline

grant1222