Solved Any disadvantages of using §?

Discussion in 'Plugin Development' started by KingFaris11, Jun 27, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I've always been using, whenever sending a player a message, ChatColor.translateAlternateColorCodes('&', "&4Hi!"); but I'd prefer to start using "§" as I usually forget to type ChatColor.translateBlahBlah and then I only realise once I test the plugin. I've never used this before and I know it works, but are there any disadvantages of using this?

2. Offline

Konato_K

@KingFaris11 Well, as far I know if your java compiles with a different encoding (or the default encoding in the system is different from the one in the file) it can cause weird characters to appear before the color code, I'm not sure how to explain it.

I believe there are threads that talk about this, but I'm currently unable to find any.

3. Offline

1Rogue

Instead of using the ChatColor method every time, have a method which retrieves the string from the config for you, and automatically converts it.

Don't put unicode directly into files.

4. Offline

xTrollxDudex

Someone who doesn't understand minecraft chat colors may not realize that the section symbol represents a color, whereas if you used ChatColor, it is apparent the usage of the section symbol.

5. Offline

justin_393

Off topic: What exactly is Trident? Like what advantages does it have over Spigot/CraftBukkit?

6. Offline

MCMatters

7. Yeah I think I know what you're talking about, 'aight thanks.

True, thanks.

Hmm, soo... Using ChatColor would do the same thing, just not make my java SRC file encode in a different format?

Last edited: Jun 28, 2015
  8. Taking a look at the decompiled craftbukkit ChatColor class:
    Code:
    toString = new String(new char[] { '§', code });
      }

public char getChar()
      {
        return code;
      }

public String toString()
      {
        return toString;
      }
    where code is 0,1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,a,b,c,d,e,f,k,l,m,n,o or r